Digital Collections
- Declassified Documents Reference System Ranges from the years immediately following World War II through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. - American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, this offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. - American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900 Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
- Black Drama - 1850 to present
Currently contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. - Black Thought and Culture : African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approx. 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. - CQ Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library (CQEL) is an extensive reference resource comprised of fourteen separate modules, each with its own focus, for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. - Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Online version of the microfiche set Early American Imprints, 1639-1800. Resource for aspects of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, etc.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A comprehensive digital edition of The 18th Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, 1701-1800 - Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 The Gerritsen Collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s. The online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in 15 languages.
- In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives Search within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. Returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.
- Making of America University of Michigan. A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides access to 9,500 books and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Making of America, Cornell University A digital library of primary sources in American social history, this site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Oxford African American Studies Center : The Online Authority on the African American Experience.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. **Only three simultaneous users** - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 87 document projects with almost 2700 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors.
Digital Full-text Publications
- HarpWeek: the Civil War Era through Reconstruction (1857-1875) Full text of the popular 19th century magazine, Harper's Weekly, on literature, history, current events, culture and society. Includes images from Harper's Weekly, with index.
- The Nation Digital Archive The archive currently contains PDF page images and searchable OCR text for all issues of The Nation published from 1865. Issues dated after June 1999 through 2000 will be added in the near future.
- Godey's Lady's Book
19th century magazine intended to "entertain and educate" women of America. Early issues include biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, fashion, dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, and sheet music.
Music - Streaming Audio
For more music resources check out the Resources by Subject page for Music and the homepage of the Rita Benton Music Library.
- African American Song
African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. - American Song
American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. - Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
A collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. - Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. - Naxos Music Library Jazz Includes the Fantasy Jazz collection, which is different content than the jazz included in Naxos Music Library.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music.
Janalyn Moss |
Janalyn MossContact Info:
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
American Memory
- American Memory from the Library of Congress Primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history. Most of these offerings are from the Library's unparalleled special collections and include photos, movies, sounds, and documents.
World Digital Library
- World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Theatre in Video
- Theater in Video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison.
Dance in Video
- Dance in Video Captures dance performances from the stage and brings them directly to your computer screen through online streaming video - including 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait