E-Journal Search
Drug Monographs
NOTE: Some resources (designated as COP-Affiliated) are only available to faculty, staff, and students affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- American Hospital Formulary Service AHFS provides detailed and heavily referenced drug monographs.
- Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER) The CDER website contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals.
- Clinical Pharmacology (COP-Affiliated) Clinical Pharmacology provides drug monographs and multiple tools designed to help users find and compare drugs and check for interactions.
- DailyMed DailyMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine and contains the most recent FDA approved pharmaceutical labels (package inserts).
- Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer Contains consumer-level information on a wide range of drugs. Formerly known as USP DI Vol 2.
- DrugPoints DrugPoints is created by Micromedex and provides summarized drug information.
- Drugs Facts and Comparisons (COP-Affiliated) Facts and Comparisons provide drug monographs, specific information on nonprescription drugs, natural products, and other topics in addition to offering tools designed to help you identify drugs and check for interactions.
- King's Guide to Parenteral Admixtures (COP-Affiliated) Available through Lexi-Comp by click on "IV Compatibility" below the left-hand search box.
- Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated) Lexi-Comp provides detailed drug monographs with sections focusing on pediatric/geriatric drug use, natural medicines, poisoning/toxicology and other topics. Tools are available to help with checking drug interations and identifying drugs.
- Martindale's Complete Drug Reference Accessed through Lexi-Comp. Perform a search, then select Martindale's from the list of results.
Martindale's is an excellent source for international drug information. - MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series (COP Building and Hospital Only) MICROMEDEX contains detailed drug monographs as well as specific sections on reproductive risks, alternative medicines, diseases, toxicology, and other topics. A PDA version is available. For off-campus access, contact Jonathan Koffel.
- NLM Drug Information Portal The NLM Drug Information Portal allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once. They include PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus.
- Physicians' Desk Reference (COP-Affiliated and Hospital) Accessed through Micromedex. Conduct a search, then select the results from "PDR Physicians Desk Reference."
New and Investigational Drugs
- ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
- FDA Drug Approvals Searchable database of drug, biologic, and molecular entity approvals.
- New Medicines in Development Database This database includes medicines currently in clinical trials or at FDA for review. You can search by drug name, indication, status, or company.
Specialty Drug Information
- FDA Medwatch Safety information on the drugs and other medical products regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
- FDA Orange Book The Food & Drug Administration's Electronic Orange Book with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations enables searching of the approved drug list by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder or applicant number.
- LactMed LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Information includes the drugs potential effects on infants and lactation.
- Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs A comprehensive overview of drug side effects published every 4 years. For recent information, consult Side Effects of Drugs Annual at the library.
- Toxnet This free-of-charge search interface provides access to the TOXNET system of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- USP Drug Error Finder Provides information on look-a-like and sound-a-like drugs.
- PillBox A new pill identification tool from the National Library of Medicine. They will be greatly expanding the images included in late 2009/early 2010
Chemical Properties
- Beilstein CROSSFIRE
The Beilstein CrossFire database is the online version of the Beilstein Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. It covers the organic chemistry literature (primarily journal articles plus patents) back to the late 1700s. Click for info on the required client. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook provides physical property data for a wide range of chemicals. - PubChem
PubChem is a free resource which provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. - SciFinder Scholar
This resource provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT.
Jonathan Koffel |
Jonathan KoffelContact Info:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
600 Newton Road
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-9731
Send Email
Subjects:
Pharmacy, Anesthesiology, Pharmacology
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
600 Newton Road
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-9731
Send Email
Subjects:
Pharmacy, Anesthesiology, Pharmacology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait