This is the "Selected Resources" page of the "Criticism of Popular Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criticism of Popular Culture  

036:157:001 / COMM 4157 Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Spring 2014
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/critpopcult Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Selected Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Identifying & Locating Books

  • Smart Search
    Search for print and online books and journals, library webpages, digital collections, and more simultaneously.
  • InfoHawk Catalog
    Use the UI Libraries' InfoHawk Catalog to locate books, journal titles, videos and more on your topic. Use Advanced Search to limit by language, format, and more.
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon
    A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Gender Violence and Popular Culture - Laura J. Shepherd
ISBN: 9780415525916
Publication Date: 2012-08-27


Cover Art
Critical Rhetorics of Race - Michael G. Lacy (Editor); Kent A. Ono (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library E185.8 .C88 2011
ISBN: 9780814762226
Publication Date: 2011-07-11


Cover Art
Crime and Racial Constructions - Jeanette Covington
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.N4 C625 2010
ISBN: 9780739125915
Publication Date: 2010-04-12

Cover Art
Enlightened Sexism - Susan J. Douglas
Call Number: Main Library HQ1233 .D68 2010
ISBN: 9780805083262
Publication Date: 2010-03-02

Cover Art
Dangerous Curves - Jeffrey A. Brown
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.W6 B765 2011
ISBN: 160473714X
Publication Date: 2011-02-01

Cover Art
Affirmative Reaction - Hamilton Carroll
Call Number: Main Library E184.A1 C377 2011
ISBN: 9780822349297
Publication Date: 2011-01-25

Article Databases

Search within these databases to identify scholarly articles. Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options.

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  Icon  Icon
    Some titles included: Quarterly Journal of Speech, Western Journal of Communication, Critical Studies in Media Communication, Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies
  • Film and Television Literature Index  Icon  Icon
    Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
  • Academic Search Elite  Icon  Icon
    Limit to peer-review for scholarly articles.
  • Wiley Online Library  Icon
  • GenderWatch  Icon
    Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  Icon
    Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • Project Muse  Icon
    Selected titles: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies, Feminist Teacher, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies, Journal of the History of Sexuality, Journal of Women's History, Meridians: feminism, race, transnationalism, Social Politics: International Studies in Gender, State, and Society, and Women's Studies Quarterly

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ericka Raber
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian
Main Library
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip