UI Libraries Resources
Smart Search
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management and bibliography tool. It can help you to efficiently store, organize, and share citations and easily format them for papers and bibliographies.
- UI RefWorks Information PageFind links to RefWorks, tutorials, and frequently asked questions.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
A guide to help you find primary and secondary sources.
137 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 14, 2012
A guide to resources in Religious Studies.
496 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
A guide to the most useful resources provided by the UI Libraries, plus some sites on the Web.
538 views this year
...
Important Databases
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. - FRANCIS
A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions), social sciences (administration, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health , sociology) and economics (economy, energy economics, management ). [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library. - JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project Muse
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995. - DialnetProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
How do I find books and e-books?
Watch this short video for a quick tutorial on using the University of Iowa Libraries' Smart Search.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Phillips Hall 463: Mondays 1:30-3:00pm, Thursdays 3:00-4:30pm; Main Library: by appointment |
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Google Books
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the left column of this guide.


Loading...
