Websites
- American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement
This digital library contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. - Black Oral History Collection This collection contains interviews of African American pioneers and their descendents throughout Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana, conducted from 1972-1974. Topics discussed in the interviews include early settlers, job opportunities, church and social life, and political involvement from the late 1800s through 1974. Requires Real Player.
- CCC: Civilian Conservation Corps (1933-1943): The New Deal's Depression-Era Ecological Movement The Bienes Museum's CCC collection of approximately 200 titles and artifacts is the focus of this online exhibit. The physical collection includes books, pamphlets, posters, banners, clothing, memory books, newspapers and newsletters, certificates, games, matchbook covers, menus, patches, pillow cases, posters, and postcards.
- Civil War and Slavery Collection The Civil War & Slavery materials are part of a larger core collection of books, maps, diaries, correspondence, official documents, artwork, and artifacts related to Lincoln, the American Civil War, and the institution of slavery in the US held by Grand Valley State College, Special Collections.
- Civil War Diaries & Letters Digital Collection
This digital collection contains the diaries and other related items of soldiers, many from Iowa, who fought in the American Civil War (1861-1865). Their accounts offer valuable insight on their day-to-day activities, battle experiences, and feelings regarding the war and their time as soldiers. Several of the diaries include full or partial transcriptions. - Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. - Discovering American Women’s History Online
- Documenting the American South A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
- Editorial Cartoons of J.N. "Ding" Darling
Jay N. "Ding" Darling (1876–1962) spent the majority of his career working as an editorial cartoonist for the Des Moines Register. His work was printed in more than 100 daily newspapers across the nation over the first half of the twentieth century. Darling covered political, social, and cultural affairs like many editorial cartoonists, but environmental conservation was also featured heavily in his work. This digital collection currently holds just over 11,000 of his cartoons. - Sacred Ground: Remembering the 9/11 Victims Database of the individuals lost in the 9/11 attacks.
- Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection This collection contains leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the University of Washington campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s. They reflect the social environment and political activities of the youth movement in Seattle during that period.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Contains information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Janalyn Moss |
Janalyn MossContact Info:
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait