Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American History  Tags: american_history history  

A guide to resources that support research in American History
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/amhist  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases/Find Articles            Print Page
  

Databases

  • Academic Search Elite  
    This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
  • America: History and Life  
    Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans  
    Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canadian government publications.
  • Black Studies Center  
    Combines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.
  • C19, The Nineteenth Century Index  
    Provides integrated bibliographic coverage of over over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • The Chicano Database  
    A comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material about Mexican-Americans. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  
    Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • FRANCIS  
    A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
  • HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index  
    HAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). It provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge  
    A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage)  
    Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science, philosophy, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR does NOT include full-text of most recent 3 to 5 years.
  • Periodicals Archive Online  
    Companion to: Periodicals index online. Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
  • Periodicals Index Online  
    Electronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed.
  • Project Muse  
    With full text for over 300 journal titles from university publishers, covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins 1995.
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses  
    Indexes U.S. doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1861 to the present. You can download complete UI dissertations from 1997 to present for free by clicking on "Order a copy".
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective  
    A comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982.
 

The History Cooperative

  • The History Cooperative  
    Full text of The American Historical Review, Journal of American History, William and Mary Quarterly, and Western Historical Quarterly is available to subscribers. Full text of selected other history journals freely accessible. See more info...

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait