Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

American History  Tags: american_history history  

A guide to resources that support research in American History
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/amhist  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

New Resources:

 

  • American West  
    Over 300 manuscripts-ranging from the original journal and papers of James Audubon, and a twelve page letter of Gen. Custer, to the logbook of a cattle trail driver and the Hinman papers describing the overland trail to California and the Gold Rush.
  • The Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective : November 1860-April 1865  
    Full text of articles taken from issues of The New York herald, The Charleston mercury and the Richmond enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Includes news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies. Also includes articles describing other than military concer
  • Declassified Documents Reference System  
    This database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s.
  • The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974  
    brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
 
 

Archive Finder

Archive Finder including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Powerful searching integrated with detailed subject indexing helps researchers to uncover historical collections.

Images of America

Dorothea Lange's American Mother

"Migrant Mother"
Dorothea Lange, photographer

Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, FSA/OWI Collection [REPRODUCTION NUMBER:  LC-DIG-fsa-8b29516]

The images in the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information Collection are among the most famous documentary photographs ever produced. Created by a group of U.S. government photographers, the images show Americans in every part of the nation. In the early years, the project emphasized rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. In later years, the photographers turned their attention to the mobilization effort for World War II. The core of the collection consists of about 164,000 black-and-white photographs. This release provides access to over 160,000 of these images; future additions will expand the black-and-white offering. The FSA-OWI photographers also produced about 1600 color photographs during the latter days of the project.

Microform Guides

  • Media Services Microform Collection Guide  
    This annotated index of approximately 250 microform guides stored in The University of Iowa Main Library Media Services Department provides a summary of those holdings that have guides. This numerical index has been arranged as a shelf list, giving the order in which the guides are to be found on the shelf according to accession number. This is only a small portion of microforms available on campus; many microform materials do not have guide books.
  • Microform Sets for Historical Research  
    The great untapped source of primary historical materials for history researchers in this area is the vast collection of microform sets held in the UI Libraries and the UI Law Library. This document lists sizable microform sets of potential interest to history researchers. It lists only microform sets that are "sizable," that is, those consisting of more than 6 reels of microfilm, or more than 40 microfiche, or more than 200 microprints or microcards.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait