UI Libraries Resources
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management and bibliography tool. It can help you to efficiently store, organize, and share citations and easily format them for papers and bibliographies.
- UI RefWorks Information PageFind links to RefWorks, tutorials, and frequently asked questions.
Smart Search
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
...
Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Rosario, Argentina (July 2011). Source: Lisa Gardinier.
Important Databases
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
HAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles. - Communication and Mass Media Complete
Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. - FRANCIS
A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions), social sciences (administration, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health , sociology) and economics (economy, energy economics, management ). [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
How do I find books and e-books?
Watch this short video for a quick tutorial on using the University of Iowa Libraries' Smart Search.
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the left column of this guide.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Phillips Hall 463: Mondays 1:30-3:00pm, Thursdays 3:00-4:30pm; Main Library: by appointment |
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Google Books
Selected Reference Sources
- The borderlands : an encyclopedia of culture and politics on the U.S.-Mexico divideMain Library F786 .B74 2008
- The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas
Electronic resource. Also available in print: Main Reference Collection E77 .C28 1996 - Dictionary of Latin American cultural studies
Electronic resource. - Encyclopedia of Cuba : people, history, cultureMain Reference Collection F1754 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture, 2nd ed.Call number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO F1406 .E53 2008
- Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and historyMain Reference Collection F1234 .C67 2004
- Pop culture Latin America! : media, arts, and lifestyleCall number: Main Library F1414.2 .S495 2005

Loading...
