Popular and Trade Publications
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes: New York Times (1980-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), Chicago Sun-Times (1992-), Variety (1993-), Daily Variety (1992-), Hollywood Reporter (1991-), Screen International (2000-)
- Factiva
News and industry publications - ABI/INFORM GlobalIncludes Wall Street Journal (1984-).
- Access World NewsChicago Sun Times (1986-), Chicago Tribune (2009-), regional US papers, world news
- Variety
- Broadcasting & CableFree web content; for subscription content (1999-), see Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Selected trade publications, including Broadcasting & Cable (1999-) - Business Source Complete
Use to look for industry reports. - More Industry InfoKim Bloedel's libguide for industry information.
Comments (0)
Full-text Articles
Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
Use e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)/Article Delivery
ILL--Books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries can usually be borrowed from other libraries. Article Delivery-- Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law) can be delivered to your desktop.
Look for the title in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)
Indexes
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA)An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- Film and Television Literature Index Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature IndexThe Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
- The American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United StatesThe AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893-1972, is produced by the American Film Institute (AFI).
Selected Books
Subject Guide |
|
Contact Info Research & Instruction Librarian Main Library The University of Iowa Libraries 319-335-5945 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
