Hardin Library
Quick Links
On This Page
Scroll down to see the following:
- AACP Reports
- Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
- Compounding Reference Resources
- Compounding Reference Books
- Compounding Textbooks
- Compounding Websites & Journals
- More on Compounding Data
Special thanks to Vicki Kee and Vern Duba at College of Pharmacy for suggesting many of the resources on this page.
AACP REPORTS: Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions
Citation information: Shrewsbury R, Augustine S, Birnie C, Nagel K, Ray D, Ruble J, Scolaro K, Athay Adams J. Assessment and Recommendations of Compounding Education in AACP Member Institutions. Am J Pharm Educ. 2012 Sep 10;76(7):S9. doi: 10.5688/ajpe767S9. PubMed PMID: 23049115
Follow the link below to see the fulltext.
Physical & Chemical Properties Resources
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Critical Compilation of pKa Values for Pharmaceutical SubstancesThis is volume 33 of Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related Methodology.
- Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
- Handbook of Pharmaceutical ExcipientsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RS201.E87 H36 2012 . Earlier editions also available.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, the Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
- The Merck IndexAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS51 .M4 2006
- Pharmaceutical Substances This link opens in a new windowPharmaceutical Substances is designed to be a complete reference guide to every pharmaceutical compound of significance. It provides a compendium of some 2,600 active pharmaceutical ingredients (API's) of interest to the chemical and pharmaceutical industries. Note: There is a known problem with the Structure Query. More info here.
- Profiles of Drug Substances, Excipients, and Related MethodologyCheck Volume 33 for pKa values.
- PubChemPubChem is a free NCBI resource providing information on the biological activities of small molecules and a a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
- USP-NF Online This link opens in a new windowUsers are required to create a individual account to access this resource. Please use your University (uiowa.edu) email address for your account.
The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
Compounding Reference Resources
- Handbook of Pharmaceutical ExcipientsAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number FOLIO RS201.E87 H36 2012 . Earlier editions also available.
- King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures This link opens in a new windowThe King Guide provides practitioners with a comprehensive, timely, and authoritative reference on parenteral admixtures and is updated quarterly.
- Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Micromedex)Martindale is also included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.3 .M4
- Secundum ArtemSecundum Artem is designed for pharmacists who compound prescriptions: nonsterile and sterile, traditional and high technology. Freely available on Perrigo website.
- Trissel's™ 2 IV Compatibility via MicromedexClick the "IV Compatibility" link at the upper left corner of the screen.
- USP Compounding Standards & ResourcesA new page on USP website dedicated to compounding information including USP standards.
Compounding Textbooks
-
The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding4th ed. Available at Course Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS200 .A45 2012
-
Compounding Sterile Preparations (3rd Ed.)Ebook.
2nd Ed. is available in print at Hardin Library. Call number RS199.S73 B83 2005 -
Pharmaceutical Compounding and DispensingAvailable at Hardin Library. Call number RS200 .P4 2006
-
A Practical Guide to Contemporary Pharmacy PracticeAvailable at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number: RS98 .T47 2009
Compounding Websites & Journals
-
International Journal of Pharmaceutical CompoundingAvailable online through Hardin Library from 1997
-
Pharmaceutical CalculationsAn open source mathbook designed for pharmacy technicians. Authored by Sean Parsons.
-
Professional Compounding Centers of America (PCCA)Professional association.
More on Compound Data
- Compound Data on Chemistry Subject GuideThis subject guide is developed by Leo Clougherty, Head of the Sciences Library. Click on the tab to see more resources for finding Compound Data.
Chris Childs
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752