Resources
A-F
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
This database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney. Although the majority is published in London, there are some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, as well as a handful of examples from the American colonies. It includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
This database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
19th Century Historical United States Newspapers
Full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
19th Century Masterfile
A vast "Index of Indexes" for historical research prior to 1925. Includes Poole's index to Periodical Literature, Stead's Index to Periodicals, Jones and Chipman's Index to Legal Periodical Literature, Richardson's Index to Periodical Articles in Religion, and Cumulative Index to a Selected List of Periodicals 1896-1899.
A How-to Guide: How to Find Newspaper Articles
[PDF File] The University of Iowa Libraries guide to finding newspaper articles.
ABI/INFORM Global
Search nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984-
Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Des Moines Register.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Complete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
AJR NewsLink
An index of all known online national, state, international, and campus newspapers. NOTE: AJR no longer appears in title.
AP Images (was: AP Photo Archive)
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive contains the current photo report from Associated Press and a selection of images from their negative and print library. Most photographs date from late 1995, from two databases: the International and the Euro/Asia photo archives. Includes a separate database (1999+) containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, downloadable as PDF files.
Boston Globe Online
Boston, Massachusetts, metropolitan daily- this is New England's largest newspaper. Includes nation/world, editorials, business, etc. For archives see also LexisNexis Academic.
British Newspapers
The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera, and National & Regional papers from British Isles.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can at present be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication. This period includes all of the years for which there is no index as well as the eleven years during which an index was published. Approximately 147,000 pages of newspaper in various digital formats are contained in this online repository. Access can be gained either by date of issue or by keyword searching.
C19, The Nineteenth Century Index
Provides integrated bibliographic coverage of over over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Chicago Defender (Black Studies Center)
The full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender is available through the Black Studies Center site. It includes the Saturday edition (1910 to 1975) and the Daily edition (1956-1975).
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily defender (1966-1973 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago daily defender (1960-1973 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1905-1966 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975 : Big weekend ed.), Chicago defender (1973-1975 : Daily ed.), Chicago defender (1921-1967 : National ed.), and the Daily defender (1956-1960 : Daily ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Chicago Tribune - Proquest Historical Newspapers
Contains full-text access to the Chicago Tribune dating from 1849-1985. Documents display in PDF. See Access World News for 1985+ articles online. The Main Library also archives issues back to 1849, available in Media Services.
Christian Science Monitor
International daily with archive search for 1908-1980. (Main Library holds print and microfilm editions.)
Daily Iowan
The newspaper for the University of Iowa. For back issues see DI newspaper index. Also see Local News Index (1986-). The Main Library has copies on microfilm from 1902- .
The Des Moines Register (Iowa)
Available from Access World News. Date range: 1999- .
The Des Moines Register (Iowa) CD-ROM
On the UI Libraries' local network ONLY. Coverage is 1991-2003, full-text articles for print or download. NOTE: The library also archives issues from 1871- , available in Main Media Services (1st floor).
Diversity on the Web: African-American Resources
Document includes links to portals, gateways, and other Webliographies; historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs); Black studies programs; think tanks; museums and exhibits; specialized libraries; book reviews; newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, radio and television sites; and religious bodies. University of Rhode Island.
Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications. Based mainly on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and concentrating on publication starts pre-1820.
Editor and Publisher: Online Media Directory
MediaInfo Links. Editor & Publisher's research department has developed a database of all media with a Web presence. You will find associations, city guides, magazine, newspaper, news services and syndicates, radio and television web sites in the new database.
Electronic Newspapers of Sub-Saharan Africa: African Newspapers Union List Project
Compiled by Columbia University Libraries, this list of online newspapers (available without subscription) is part of a larger, on-going effort -- AFRINUL--"a union list" of African newspapers held by research libraries in North America (Europe and Africa to be added in the future). AFRINUL is a special project of the Africana Librarians Council of the African Studies Association of the United States and the Cooperative Africana Microform Project at the Center for Research Libraries.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Factiva
Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
Resources
F-Z
FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
FAIR, the national media watch group, offers criticism of media bias and censorship.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975-1996)
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information.
Gazette (Cedar Rapids)
Available from NewsBank Access World News. Date range: 1992-
GazetteOnline (Cedar Rapids)
Major eastern Iowa daily newspaper. Search archives for articles from 1992-. There is a charge for acquiring the full archived articles; however, Main Media Services holds issues on microfilm (no. 29051) back to 1883. Also see Local News Index (1986-).
Historical Newspapers Online
Includes Palmer's Index to the Times (London Times), The Official Index to the Times, The Historical Index to the New York Times, and Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
The International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) provides a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more than 20,000 newspaper titles from participating institutions. ICON provides a clearinghouse of information about international newspapers and preservation efforts. ICON collects and disseminates newspaper preservation policies from around the world and compiles preservation standards for microfilming, digitization, and retention of materials in their original formats. In addition, ICON seeks to augment the online presence of scholarly and professional information about international newspapers by digitizing bibliographic aids and reference works.
Iowa City Press-Citizen
Available from NewsBank Access World News. Date range: 9/15/1999- .
Iowa City Press-Citizen
Website for Iowa City daily newspaper. Search "recent news" for articles published over the last week. Also see Local News Index (1968-). Main Media Services holds some issues from 1949+.Iowa Newspapers Online
Collection of Iowa newspapers gathered by the Iowa Newspapers Association. The most comprehensive Iowa newspaper site available.
Kiosken: comprehensive list of world newspapers
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.
Local News Index
Local News Index, produced by the Iowa City Public Library, provides indexing for local newspapers and magazines including the Press Citizen, Daily Iowan, Little Village, Icon, Iowa City Magazine and Gazette and portions of the Cedar Rapids Gazette.
New York Times
The New York Times daily newspaper via Access World News. For more full text of current articles, see LexisNexis Academic. Issues are also held in print or on microfiche in Media Services at the Main Library.New York Times - Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 (New York Daily Times) to 2004. Documents display in PDF.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
Proquest Historical Newspapers Atlanta Daily World
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Atlanta world (1931-1932) and the Atlanta daily world (1932-2003). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Proquest Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Sentinel
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Proquest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Amsterdam news (1922-1938), New York Amsterdam news (1938-1941 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1943-1961 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1962-1993), New York Amsterdam star-news (1941-1943), and the New York star & Amsterdam news (1941-1941). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Proquest Historical Newspapers Pittsburgh Courier
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Roll Call
"The Newspaper of Capitol Hill," Roll Call since 1996 has offered this companion Web edition to the newsprint version. A source for Congressional news and information, the Website posts leading stories, editorials, election news, commentary, cartoons and classifieds.
Television News Archive
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic and 1/2 inch VHS format are available for a fee from the Archive.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The Times can be found here.
TWST.com: The Wall Street Transcript
Investment information for the USA and abroad. Vols. 1+ (from June 10, 1963- ) also on microfilm.
The Washington Post
Full-text available from Access World News. Date range: 1977- . See Main Library Media Services for the current issue in print and copies on microfilm back to 1877.
World News Connection
WNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.
World Newspaper Archive
Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Forthcoming are African, European, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers. Can be cross-searched with collection: America's historical newspapers.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait