General Databases
A-E
Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Des Moines Register.
Alt-Press Watch
Full-text database indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. (Main Library Reference Area holds vol. 1- July 1969- to present in the paper edition.)
America's News Magazines
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from 26 familiar magazines.
AskERIC
ERIC focuses on education-related topics. It also covers many other subject areas, such as psychology, social sciences, health education, recreation and leisure, communications, and personnel issues. ERIC integrates two print indexes. The Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) covers journal articles, and Resources in Education (RIE) covers many types of materials, including conference papers and grant-sponsored research reports. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Main Library and the Psychology Library. NOTE: This resource uses the freely available AskERIC interface.
CIOS Journal Index
This system allows you to perform electronic searches of 58 core serials and annuals in the discipline of communication studies and related fields (e.g., journalism, rhetoric, mass communication, and social linguistics).
ComAbstracts
This database contains abstracts of articles published in the discipline of communication studies and related fields (e.g., journalism, rhetoric, mass communication, and social linguistics).
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
The Educator's Reference Desk
Through The Educator's Reference Desk you can access AskERIC's 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses.
ERIC (CSA version)
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
General Databases
E-W
ERIC Full-text Documents
Full text of the ERIC documents (EDs) from 1993 to the present are available. Please note that ERIC documents 1966-July, 2004 are available in microfiche in the Media Services Department, Main Library. New ERIC documents (July, 2004 to the present) are available in electronic format only. There is an effort to digitize documents acquired by the ERIC system1966-1992. If there is no link to the full-text in a database for ERIC documents 1966-1992, check with the Media Services Department, Main Library for the microfiche copy.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
FRANCIS
A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions), social sciences (administration, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health , sociology) and economics (economy, energy economics, management ).
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Continuous and immediate 24/7 access to this major new resource in communication studies for students and academics. Powerful searching and browsing capabilities. Extensive cross-referencing.
Institut National de l'Audiovisuel
The French archive for depositary copies of radio and TV programs
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.
Project Muse
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Television News Archive
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic and 1/2 inch VHS format are available for a fee from the Archive.
WorldCat
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait