Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication Studies 

Libguides provides resources that support the research and learning on the subjects of communication practices, processes, theory and contexts.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/commstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Television            Print Page
  
 

Television Resources

Encyclopedia of Television
The Encyclopedia of Television includes more than 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information.

Film and Television Literature Index Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.

Television News Archive Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic and 1/2 inch VHS format are available for a fee from the Archive.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageVon Yeager
Contact Info:
University of Iowa Main Library
319.335.5427
Send Email

Subjects:
Communciation Studies, Journalism & Mass Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait