Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Communication Studies 

Libguides provides resources that support the research and learning on the subjects of communication practices, processes, theory and contexts.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/commstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Databases            Print Page
  
 

General Databases

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.

 Alt-Press Watch Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Full-text database indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. (Main Library Reference Area holds vol. 1- July 1969- to present in the paper edition.)

AP Images (was: AP Photo Archive) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive contains the current photo report from Associated Press and a selection of images from their negative and print library. Most photographs date from late 1995, from two databases: the International and the Euro/Asia photo archives. Includes a separate database (1999+) containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, downloadable as PDF files.

  ComAbstracts Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
This database contains abstracts of articles published in the discipline of communication studies and related fields (e.g., journalism, rhetoric, mass communication, and social linguistics).

 Communication and Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).

Communication Institute for Online Scholarship Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
CIOS online services provide access to thousands of files in the resource library as well as dozens of scholarly conferences enrolling over 6,000 and students. The U of I is a "CIOS Affiliate Institution." Also, see the CIOS/Comserve Journal Index and CIOS/ComAbstracts.

 Education Full Text Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
This database covers periodicals, books, and yearbooks concerning the field of education. It has indexing from 1983, abstracts from 1994, and full-text from 1996.

 ERIC (CSA version) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.

 ERIC (EBSCOhost version) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, Main Library and the Psychology Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.

  ISI Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).

 JSTOR (Journal Storage) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

 LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.

 Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Contains non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 1,500 serials published worldwide.

Project Muse Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.

 ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Indexes U.S. doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1861 to the present. You can download complete UI dissertations from 1997 to present for free by clicking on "Order a copy". Full text is also available for University of Iowa and other CIC institutions dissertations from 1997 to the present via Current Research @. The Main Library and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences Interlibrary Loan Departments can usually obtain dissertations completed at other institutions.

 PsycINFO Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1500 journals in more than 35 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.

 Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present.

WorldCat Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.

 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageVon Yeager
Contact Info:
University of Iowa Main Library
319.335.5427
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication Studies, Journalism & Mass Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait