Reference Materials
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A set of learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question. - Sage eReference
A collection of encyclopedias, primarily in the social sciences. See the subject entry for sociology.
Comments (0)
Selected Books
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO HM671 .E53 2007
ISBN: 9781412918121
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Available online and in print
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO HN90.R3 H354 2002
ISBN: 041593639X
Publication Date: 2002-10-11
Call Number: Main Library HN65 .B634 2011
ISBN: 9780520269248
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
News Databases
See also: the News and Newspapers libguide.
- LexisNexis Academic
Access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available - Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.
Scholarly Articles
Search within these databases to identify scholarly articles. Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options.
- PAIS International
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Selected titles: Comparative Political Science, Comparative Politics, Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, Journal of Democracy, World Policy Journal, World Politics. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - Academic Search Elite
Limit to peer-review for scholarly articles. Indexes and includes some full-text for the following titles: Comparative Political Studies, Russian Social Science Review, Russian Education and Society, Russian Review, and many other relevant titles. - Social Sciences Citation Index
SSCI is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, 1898 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge database.
Identifying & Locating Books
- Smart SearchSearch for print and online books and journals, library webpages, digital collections, and more simultaneously.
- InfoHawk CatalogUse the UI Libraries' InfoHawk Catalog to locate books, journal titles, videos and more on your topic. Use Advanced Search to limit by language, format, and more.
- WorldCat
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
Subject Guide |
|
Contact Info Research & Instruction Librarian Main Library The University of Iowa Libraries 319-335-5945 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Full-text Articles
When you have the citation for an article, and you'd like to locate the full-text, try the following options.
- From within a database, select InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
- Use e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title in your citation. InfoLink will guide you to full-text options.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to borrow books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries.
- Article Delivery
Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law and the Curriculum Lab) can be scanned and delivered to your desktop. - Look for the title of the journal or magazine in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)


Loading...
