General Reference
- British Library EThOSAccess to theses produced by UK Higher Education.
- Chicago Manual of Style

- DissonlineProvides a wide range of information on German dissertations and post-doctoral theses.
- GnomenGerman bibliographic search engine.
- Grove Art Online
part of Oxford Art Online - Oxford Classical Dictionary
Reference source covering all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. - Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with full text of most dissertations published after 1997. - WorldCat

Comments (0)
Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations
Art and art-related sources
- Anthropology Plus
Citations of articles in arhcaeology and art history. - ArtFull Text
Full text of articles 1997- present; abstracts of articles 1994 - present; and citations to articles in journals 1984 - present - Art Retrospective
Provides citations to journal articles 1929-1984. Can search simultaneously with ArtFull Text. - ArtFull Text plus Art Index Retrospective
Search both ArtFull Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time. - Avery Index to Architectural Articles
Citations of articles in architectural journals. - BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art)
Citations for articles appearing in art and art-related journals. Coverage stopped in 2007. - JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences (including art, architecture and archaeology). Note: this database contains only back issues and does not include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations
General Sources
- L'Annee Philologique
Citations for books and articles covering most aspects of the Greek and Roman world, including art, archaeology, and religion. (The site is in English.) - FRANCIS
Citations for articles in history and art history - IBR
The International Bibliography of Book Reviews provides an index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals. - IBZ Online
The Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur, an international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English. - JSTOR
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences (including art, architecture and archaeology). Note: this database contains only back issues and does not include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project MUSE
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the humanities and social sciences, including the visual and performing arts. Coverage begins in 1995. - TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsProvides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals.
Web Resources
- Beazley ArchiveResource for Greek pottery
- DiotimaMaterials for the study of women and gender in the ancient Mediterannean world
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookA selection of ancient texts in translation.
- Perseus Digital Library
Multimedia library of Archaic and Classical Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. Pictures of ancient ruins, antique art, and much more. Read Greek texts online in Greek or English
Important Reference Books
- Berve, H. Greek Temples, Theatres and Shrines. (Art Library Reserve, FOLIO NA275 .B413)
- Boardman, J. Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC). (Art Library Reference, NX650 .M9 L48)
- Camp, J. The Archaeology of Athens. (Art Library Reserve, DF275 .C28 2001) and as e-book (http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uiowa/Doc?id=10192315 )
- Goette, H.R. Athens, Attica and the Megarid: An Archaeological Guide. (Art Library Reserve, DF275 .G6413 2001)
- Lawrence, A.W. Greek Architecture (5th ed. rev.). (Art Library Reserve, FOLIO NA270 .L36 1996)
- Stewart, A. Greek Sculpture: An Exploration. (Art Library Reserve, FOLIO NB90 .S74 1990)
- Travlos, J.A. Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens (Art Library Reserve, FOLIO NA280 .T68)
Important Journals
- American Journal of Archaeology
Library: The years 1897-1999 are shelved off site at the Library Annex. The years 2000-2011 are shelved alphabetically among the journals on the 3rd floor of the Main Library.
Online access: JSTOR (1897-2005)
- Hesperia
Library: The years 1932-1999 are shelved off site at the Library Annex. The years 2000-2011 are shelved alphabetically among the journals on the 3rd floor of the Main Library.
Online access: JSTOR (1932-2008)
- The Journal of Hellenic Studies
Library: The years 1880-1999 are shelved off site at the Library Annex.
Online access: JSTOR (1880-2008)
Evaluating Information
The CRAAP Test http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/ref/howevalweb/ (evaluate information you find online)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Evaluating your sources –
Authority – Find out who’s telling you the information: an expert or scholar?
Source – Who’s the publisher or entity responsible for presenting the information?
Coverage – Is it scholarly or popular?
Who’s the intended audience? (Check the vocabulary, language, and tone.)
What’s the depth/scope?
Accuracy – Are the facts, names, dates, etc. correct?
Objectivity – Is there a bias or particular viewpoint?
Date – Is it recent? (Is that relevant?)
Subject Guide |

Loading...
