Syllabus
Mapping 'Korea' in East Asia: Ideas, Politics, and Society Fall 2012
Databases/Indexes
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) / University of Michigan
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies as identified by the BAS staff are indexed as immediately as possible, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount; full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function. - JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues and not for the last 3-5 years of content. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. - Project Muse
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995. - Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily. - WorldCat
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world. - e-Korean Studies
Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. Text is in Korean. - DBpia
Full text database including over 570 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by 11 subject categories such as economics, engineering, education, medicine, etc. and all journals are available from the first issue. - KRpia
Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, and other classical works. - Naver News LibraryNaver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper article archive database containing four major newspapers: Tonga ilbo / Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999, Kyonghyang sinmun / Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999, Maeil kyongje sinmun / Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999, Han’gyore / The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999. This resource is free to academic institutions.
UI Korean Collection
The Korean collection at the University of Iowa is a part of the East Asian Collection and intershelved with Chinese and Japanese materials on the west side of the 2nd floor of the Main Library.
The western language materials on Korea are shelved as follows according to call number:
- Books with call numbers A through D -- 5th floor
- Books with call numbers E through PS3515 -- 4th floor
- Books with call numbers PS3515 through Z -- 2nd floor
The Media Services is located on the south side of the 1st floor.
Library Services
Services available from the UI Libraries: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/services/
Copiers: http://ask.lib.uiowa.edu/a.php?qid=183917
Scanners and printers: http://ask.lib.uiowa.edu/a.php?qid=183858
InfoHawk and Smart Search
|
Smart Search: http://smartsearch.uiowa.edu/ |
InfoHawk: http://infohawk.uiowa.edu/ |
|
|
|
Finding Images in Print Format
- Go to InfoHawk and select Advanced Search. Use Subject Words search and try "Pictorial Works" with your other keyword(s).

- Consider adding a keyword such as tosŏl, torok, and illustrated to your search query.
- When books contain illustrative matters, the bibliographic records contain abbreviations such as "ill. (or col. ill. or ill. some col.)," "ports.," "maps." Use thoese abbreviations in addition to your topical keywords.
Finding DVDs
- Use Advanced Search in InfoHawk and limit your search to DVD.
- Try Subject Headings such as Documentary films, Documentary television program, and Foreign films -- Korea with your keywords.
- To find DVDs with English subtitles, add the phrase "English subtitles" or "subtitles in English" to your search query. You can eliminate DVDs with Language note like "English dialogue with optional Japanese subtitles" by using phrase searches.
- Doing another search without quotation marks may find you DVDs with Language note like "French dialogue;
English and Spanishsubtitles."
Updated: 3/29/2013
Resources in Other Libraries
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Document Delivery Services
- UBorrow: You can borrow books from the 13 CIC libraries plus the Center for Research Library. Request and receive what you need within a week. Log in here before you start searching the UBorrow catalog.
- WorldCat.org and OCLC WorldCat: To find materials in other libraries and request what you need via regular ILL and Document Delivery Services.
JSTOR and ProjectMuse
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
When you are limiting your search result by checking "Only results with images," check what the modified search query says.
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
How to Cite Content in Project Muse: http://muse.jhu.edu/about/tools/pdf/cite_content.pdf
| JSTOR | Project Muse | Other Databases | |
| The Journal of Asian Studies |
Coverage: 1956-2009 External content: 2010-2012 |
Also indexed in Academic Search Elite and Bibliography of Asian Studies | |
| The Journal of Japanese Studies |
Coverage: 1974-2007 |
Coverage: Vol. 30 (2004) through current issue | Also indexed in Academic Search Elite and Bibliography of Asian Studies |
| The Journal of Korean Studies | Coverage: 1979-2010 | Coverage: Vol. 1 (1969) through current issue | Also indexed in Bibliography of Asian Studies |
(As of March 29, 2013)
If you search InfoHawk or check Find Resources->E-Journals on Library Website menu,
will tell you which databases includes a specific journal and its coverage.
Images in Databases
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Select Images from the menu bar at the top of the screen.

Read Help file for How to Cite Images and Image Usage Permission information.
You can select Caption in Advanced Search, you will find illustrations with your keywords in the caption.
When you are using "Only results with images" link at the top of your result list, check how your previous search has been modified.

Copyright Information
Digital Image Rights Computator!: http://www.vraweb.org/resources/ipr/dirc/page_1.html
"Can I Use That?" webinar: http://cichq.adobeconnect.com/p4xz2lpb6id/
Copyright Information & Resources at the University of Minnesota Libraries: http://www.lib.umn.edu/copyright
Copyright for Digital Media Assignments: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/copyrightfordigitalmedia
Copyright LibGuide at the UI Libraries: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/copyright
Search for more LibGuides at: http://libguides.com/
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Japanese Studies Librarian 100 Main Library Iowa City, IA 52242 Phone: 319-335-5030 FAX: 319-335-5900 Send Email |

Loading...
