This is the "Home" page of the "Foundations of Clinical Practice IV" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foundations of Clinical Practice IV  

Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/fcp4 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Are we missing something?

Know of a great resource that is not on this list?  Let us know!

 

FCP IV Textbooks

Required Textbooks (One of the following)

Rapid Analysis of Electrocardiograms (3rd editon, 2000)
Stein, E.
In print at Hardin Reserves: RC683.5.E5 S75 2000

Rapid Interpretation of EKG's: An Interactive Course (1st edition, 2000)
In print at Hardin Reserves: RC683.5.E5 D8 2000

Recommended Textbooks

Cecil's Textbook of Medicine (24th edition, 2011)
Goldman, L & Ausiello, D

Ferri's Clinical Advisor: Instant Diagnosis and Treatment (1st edition, 2014)
Ferri, F

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (18th edition, 2012)
Fauci, AS et al.

Obstetrics & Gynecology (6th edition, 2010)
Beckmann, CRB et al.
In print at Hardin Course Reserves: RG101.O24 2010

Mosby's Guide to Physical Examination (7th edition, 2011)
Also in print at Hardin Reserves: FOLIO RC76 .M63 2011

Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination (replaces Mosby's)

  Point of Care Tools

These resources are meant as "point of care" resources. This means they give quick information and overviews for the most part. If you click on the little blue circle to the right of the resource, you will see a description.

  • DynaMed  
      
  • VisualDx  
      
      Icon  Icon
    VisualDx gives general practitioners the ability to build a differential diagnosis that provides specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images.
  • MedlinePlus
  • UpToDate  
      
      Icon
    UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.]
  • ACP Smart Medicine  Icon
    ACP Smart Medicine is a decision-support tool designed for point-of care use and take the place of ACP Pier. Smart Medicine is a collection of modules divided into five topic types: disease, screening and prevention, complementary and alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, and procedures.

  Journal Article Databases

  • PubMed  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Broad Biomedical Subject Coverage
  • CINAHL Plus  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Nursing and Allied Health Database - Good for Clinical & Psychosocial Questions
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    Psychology Database - Good for Psychosocial Questions
  • ABI/INFORM Global  Icon  Icon
    Business Database - Good for Insurance & Health Administration Questions
  • Google Scholar
    Ok for interdisciplinary topics, but keep in mind that there are limitations with relevancy ranking and coverage. There's also the issue with personalization of Google.

Clinical Education Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Blevins
Contact Info
amy-blevins@uiowa.edu
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319 335 7636
Send Email

Lab Values

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip