Hardin Library
Journal Databases
- PubMed
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. [Help sheet for searching PubMed - PDF] - CINAHL Plus
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. - PsycINFO
The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. - ABI/INFORM Global
Business database that's useful for health insurance type questions. - Google Scholar
Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:Full Text" or click on "More" in your results list for InfoLink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [additional information about Google Scholar]
Are we missing something?
FCP II Required Texts
Mosby's Guide to Physical Examination
Hardin Library For Health Sci Course Reserve FOLIO RC76 .M63 2011
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Available electronically via above link.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Hardin Library For Health Sci Course Reserve R121 .D73
Clinical Tools
- DynaMed
DynaMed (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. DynaMed contains clinically organized summaries of nearly 1,800 topics and is updated daily from review of the research literature. This means that the reference information is always up-to-date and does not require new editions. DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings. [From: About Dynamed] - ACP PIER
ACP PIER is the American College of Physicians' peer reviewed EBM resource. Sections on diseases, prevention, CAM and procedures are highly synthesized and designed for point-of-care use. Browse table of contents or search through Stat!Ref. - MedlinePlusthe National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus includes videos of common procedures, a directory of health organizations, a medical dictionary, a medical encyclopedia, a guide to drugs and supplements, and much more.
- UpToDate
UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.] - VisualDx
VisualDx gives general practitioners the ability to build a differential diagnosis that provides specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images. - Micromedex
Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindales, PDR, Material safety data sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index nominum.
Electronic Books by Subject
Lab Values
- Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests Diana Nicoll, Stephen J. McPhee, and Michael Pignone
- UI Department of Pathology Laboratory Services Handbook
- Lab Tests Online
- Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic TestsRick Daniels
- BiliToolAssesses the risks toward the development of hyperbilirubinemia in newborns.
Clinical Education Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Electronic Book Packages
- AccessMedicine
Contains Diagnosaurus, Quick Answers, as well as many textbooks. - AccessPharmacy
Similar to AccessMedicine, but with a focus on pharmacy. - MD Consult
Provides access to more than 50 renowned medical texts, articles from over 70 clinical journals, etc.


Submit

Loading...
