This is the "Home" page of the "Art of the Ancient Roman Empire" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art of the Ancient Roman Empire  

Resources for researching the art of ancient Rome
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/content.php?pid=255919 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Reference

Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations

Art and art-related sources

  • Anthropology Plus  Icon
    Citations of articles in arhcaeology and art history.
  • Art Full Text  Icon  Icon
    Full text of articles 1997- present; abstracts of articles 1994 - present; and citations to articles in journals 1984 - present
  • Art Full Text plus Art Index Retropsective  Icon
    Search both ArtFull Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
  • Art Index Retrospective  Icon  Icon
    Coverage: 1-32, 1929-1984 - parallels Art Full Text. Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  Icon
    Citations of articles in architectural journals.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art  
      
      Icon
    Citations for articles appearing in art and art-related journals. Coverage stopped in 2007.
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage)  Icon  Icon
    Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences (including art, architecture and archaeology). Note: this database contains only back issues and does not include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations

General Sources

  • Annee Philologique  Icon
    Citations for books and articles covering most aspects of the Greek and Roman world, including art, archaeology, and religion. (The site is in English.)
  • FRANCIS  Icon
    Citations for articles in history and art history
  • International Bibliography of Book Reviews  Icon
    The International Bibliography of Book Reviews provides an index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals.
  • IBZ Online  Icon
    Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ) The international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English.
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage)  Icon  Icon
    Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
  • Project MUSE  Icon
    With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the humanities and social sciences, including the visual and performing arts. Coverage begins in 1995.
  • TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
    Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals.

Web Resources

  • Aquae Urbis Romae/The Waters of Rome
    An interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome.
  • Ara Pacis Augustae
    A comprehensive body of images of the Ara Pacis Augustae.
  • Digital Roman Forum
    A digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity.
  • Diotima
    Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient Mediterannean world
  • Lacus Curtius: Into the Roman World
    A number of sources on ancient Rome, including Samuel Ball Platner's A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome.
  • Perseus Digital Library  Icon
    Multimedia library of Archaic and Classical Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. Pictures of ancient ruins, antique art, and much more. Read Greek texts online in Greek or English
  • Plan of Rome
    A large plaster model which represents ancient Rome in the times of the emperor Constantine (IVth C. A.D.).
  • Rome Reborn
    3D digital models of Rome.
 

Important Reference Books

Claridge, A.  Rome:  An Oxford Archaeological Guide (Art Library Reserve DG62 .C53 1998 )

Nash, E.  Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO NA310 .N28 1968 )

Platner, S.B. A topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve DG16 .P685 1965 )

Richardson, L.  A new topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO DG68 .R5 1992 )

Haselberger, L.  Mapping Augustan Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO GA895.R65 M37 2002 )

Steinby, E.  Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae (Main Library Reference Collection FOLIO DG63 .L49 1993 )

 

Important Journals

American Journal of Archaeology
Library: The years 1897-1999 are shelved off site at the Library Annex.  The years 2000-2011 are shelved alphabetically among the journals on the 3rd floor of the Main Library.
Online access: JSTOR (1897-2005)

Journal of Roman Studies
Library: Main Library Folio DG 11 .J7 (1911-2009)
Online access: JSTOR (1911-2007)

Journal of Roman Archaeology
Library: Main Library DG 11 .J68 (1988-2010)

Evaluating Information

Evaluate Information Online: The CRAAP Test

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Evaluating your sources

Authority - Find out who's telling you the information, an expert or scholar?

Source - Who's the publisher or entity responsible for presenting the information?

Coverage - Is it scholarly or popular? Who's the intended audience? (Check the vocabulary, language and tone.) What's the depth/scope?

Accuracy - Are the facts, names, dates, etc correct?

Objectivity - Is there a bias or particular viewpoint?

Date - Is it recent? (Is that relevant?)

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Rijn Templeton
    Contact Info
    235 Art Building West (ABW)
    335-0120
    Send Email
    Subjects:
    Art
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip