Popular and Trade Publications
- LexisNexis AcademicIncludes: New York Times (1980-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), Chicago Sun-Times (1992-)
- Factiva
News and industry publications - ABI/INFORM GlobalIncludes Wall Street Journal (1984-).
- Access World NewsChicago Sun Times (1986-), Chicago Tribune (2009-), regional US papers, world news
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Selected trade publications
Full-text Articles
Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
Use e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)/Article Delivery
ILL--Books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries can usually be borrowed from other libraries. Article Delivery-- Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law) can be delivered to your desktop.
Look for the title in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)
Scholarly Articles in Databases
Academic Search Elite and Communication and Mass Media Complete include articles from popular, trade, and scholarly publications. Not everything in these databases will be considered scholarly.
- Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite contains full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. - Business Source Complete
Find industry and market research reports. In addition, BSC also offers access to articles from journals, trade magazines and news papers. - Communication and Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals. - ISI Web of Knowledge
A citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. - Sociological Abstracts
Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present.
Popular or Scholarly?
Subject Guide |
|
Contact Info Research & Instruction Librarian Main Library The University of Iowa Libraries 319-335-5945 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Google Scholar
Google Scholar
Google Scholar will match its results with what we have available through UI Libraries' subscriptions. Be sure to set your scholarly preferences to the UI Libraries for off-campus use. Try several search strategies to view your topic from various perspectives.
Note: Google Scholar does not search all of the UI Libraries' databases. Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly.

Loading...
