This is the "Home" page of the "Hellenistic and Roman Sculpture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hellenistic and Roman Sculpture  

Online Resources for Hellenistic and Roman Sculpture
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/hellenisticandromansculpture Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference

Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online) http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordartonline.com 

Oxford Classical Dictionary (part of Past Masters)   http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/pastmasters

Perseus Digital Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/perseus

 Chicago Manual of Style http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/contents.html

 

Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations

Anthropology Plus - citations of articles in archaeology and art history http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/eureka/anthro

ArtFull Text - full text of articles 1997- present; abstracts of articles 1994 - present; and citations to articles in journals 1984 - present   http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/wilson/artft

Art Retrospective - provides citations to journal articles 1929-1984.  Can search simultaneously with ArtFull Text  http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/wilson/artft

Francis - citations for articles in archaeology and art history http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/eureka/francis 

IBZ Online - The Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur, an international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English.  http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ibz

JSTOR - Full text articles in art history, archaeology, and classical studies.   http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/jstor/jstor

L'Annee Philologique - citations for books and articles covering most aspects of the Greeek and Roman world. http://infolink.lib.uiowa.edu/sfx_local?sid=ALEPH:856&svc.fulltext=yes&rft.object_id=110992357288562

TOCS-IN - (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) - http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html

 

 

Other Web Resources

Beazley Archive - Greek and Roman sculpture section http://www.beazley.ox.ac.uk/sculpture/default.htm

Diotima - resource for gender studies in the ancient world http://www.stoa.org/diotima/

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - a selection of ancient texts in translation. http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook.HTML

LacusCurtius: a Gateway into the Roman World.  Includes the Roman Gazetteer, Greek and Latin texts (some also in English), and Platner's work (with Ashby's 1929 revisions) A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. http://penelope.uchicago.edu/Thayer/E/Roman/home.html

 Thesaurus Linguae Graecae - full text of most Greek textx (8th c. BC-AD1453). http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://stephanus.tlg.uci.edu/inst/fontsel

Trajan's Column -  explores the Column of Trajan as a sculptural monument in a searchable databas of over 500 images. http://www.stoa.org/trajan/

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rijn Templeton
Contact Info
235 Art Building West (ABW)
335-0120
Send Email
Subjects:
Art
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip