This is the "Home" page of the "Skill Builder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
15-minutes spent practicing with these newsy topics and authoritative databases will be sure to hone your research skills.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/skill_builder Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Brainfood

Brainfood

 

What's Next?

What topic most interests you?






Sexual assault: call it what it is...criminal

Focus: Sexual Assault and Public Policy

  • CQ Electronic Library  
      
      Icon
    CQ Electronic Library (CQPress.com) is an extensive reference resource comprised of 16 separate modules--each with its own focus--for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Global Reseacher, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Encyclopedia of American Government, CQ Congress and the Nation, CQ Historic Document Series, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ's Politics in America, CQ Supreme Court Yearbook, CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics, and CQ Washington Information Directory.
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen  
      
      Icon
    Website for Iowa City daily newspaper. Search "recent news" for articles published over the last week. Also see Local News Index (1968-). Main Media Services holds some issues from 1949+. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]

There Be Pirates!: piracy past and present

Focus:  Contrasting methods of reporting news of Piracy from 1790 to present day.  See the movie trailer for "Captain Phillips", the dramatization of ship capture and hostage taking by Somali pirates in 2009.

  • Access World News  
      
      Icon
    Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I  
      
      Icon
    Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, this offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

Protest Movements

Focus: Time Magazine's 2011 Person of the Year: The Protester and past American protest movements.

  • Time's 2011 Person of the Year  
      
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994  
      
      Icon
    Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12,000,000 pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.

Marriage Equity

Focus: Major legal issues surrounding same-sex marriage, domestic partners, and civil unions.

Several Shades of Gray: A Different Kind of Research

Focus: Somewhere between an idea and a polished publication is the gray area of "science right now" reports.  Explore the sources of Gray Literature and bump up your expectations of research sources.

Make Joseph Kony Famous

Focus: Lords Resistance Army and Joseph Kony

Famine in Historic Context

Focus: Locating primary documents that report on famine, food security, and humanitarian aid.  No snacks will be provided for this workshop.

Teatotalers and Bootleggers: the 100 year path to the 18th/21st Amendments

Focus: Primary resources documenting the Temperance Movement, the passage of Prohibition and its repeal.

  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994  
      
      Icon
    Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12,000,000 pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.

Looking for Lucretia, Elizabeth, and Susan B.

Focus: Searching for women who put the "Rage" in suffrage!

Underage Drinking

Focus: 1) Iowa City 21-only ordinance 2) underage drinking on campuses nationwide

The Life and Times of Khaddafi

Focus: Foreign media coverage of Libyan leader, Mu'ammar Al-Qadhafi, for past and present events.

Environmental Tragedies: Human-Made Disasters

Focus: Find investigative reports and news accounts of events in the aftermath of human-made disasters. The list is long, but here are a few:

  • Dust Bowl (1930-40)
  • Love Canal (1978)
  • Bhopal Gas Leak (1984)
  • Exxon Valdez (1989)

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Marianne Mason
Contact Info
Main Library
University of Iowa
319-335-5538
Send Email

How to Cite

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip