This is the "Home" page of the "Women's and Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's and Gender Studies  

Resources for contemporary and historical women's and gender studies.
Last Updated: Dec 30, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/women Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Since its emergence in the 1970s, scholarship on women and gender has created an extensive and still growing body of multidisciplinary and cross-disciplinary scholarship that approaches almost any subject from a women's or gender studies perspective. This guide will suggest some bibliographic guides to the literature and some resources for further research.

 

For Reference and Methodology

Sage eReference 's Encyclopedia of Gender and Society (direct link to the title from InfoHawk or from Sage eReference's Gender & Sexuality Studies subject group) provides access to its content by thematic, e.g., race and ethnicity or gender identity & roles, or subject headings. Each entry includes a reader's guide with links to related entries within the Encyclopedia.

The Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies (Main Ref HQ1180 .H363 2006) and Handbook of Feminist Research (Main Ref HQ1180 .H35 2007) provide similar points of entry to the field. Both online and print handbooks and encyclopedias will include short bibliographies of additional information sources.

State, national, and international government publications are excellent sources of statistical information. There are several LibGuides to various types of government information as well as reference librarians, Marianne Mason and Brett Cloyd, who are specialists in this area.

Subject Guide

Chris Africa
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip