Selected Websites
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century At this site, the Schomburg Center offers free, full-text access to a rich digital collection: 52 works written by African American women during the 19th century. This impressive collection includes works that are the foundation of the African American women's literary tradition, many of which are out of print. Here one will find such canonical works as Narrative of Sojourner Truth, Phillis Wheatley's Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral, and Ann Plato's Essays.
- Book History Online: International Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries
Book History Online (BHO) is based on the Annual Bibliography of the History of the Printed Book and Libraries (ABHB), which is an annual collaboration of editors in more than 30 countries. Subjects covered by BHO correspond with those of ABHB: all schola - Cambridge History of English and American Literature (Bartleby.com)
Contents range from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a broad range of writing on humorists, publicists, orators, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song w - Camelot Project Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies and basic information.
- Electronic Text Center Collections
The Electronic Text Center's holdings include approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in thirteen languages, with more than 350,000 related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, page images of Special Collections - Internet Medieval Sourcebook From Online Reference Books for Medieval Sources - Links to a variety of Medieval sites.
- Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Mi - Modern Language Association The web site of the main professional association for the fields of literature and languages. Includes academic job listings, information on conferences, and a summary of MLA documentation style.
- Postcolonial and Postimperial Web Search Engine This search engine returns the titles of all the pages in the Postcolonial Web containing the search terms.
- Renaissance Sites This web page contains numerous links to sites that deal with the Renaissance.
- Romantic Circles Byron, the Shelleys, Keats, and their contemporaries, with links to other sites, announcements of new publication, conferences and more.
- Shakespeare on the Web Numerous links to all types of sites, including full texts of the complete works.
- SHARP Web (The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing)
The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing was created in 1991 to provide a global network for book historians, who until then had usually worked in isolation. SHARP now has over 1000 members in over 20 countries, including professo - The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Now expanded and updated, The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory.
- The Perseus Digital Library
A multimedia library of Archaic and Classical Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. Pictures of ancient ruins, antique art, and much more. Read Greek texts online in Greek or English. The University of Iowa Libraries Information Arcade has the - The Victorian Web Created by George P. Landow, Professor of English and Art History, Brown University, author of the book Hypertext which features this project as an example of a cooperative project in hypermedia.
- The Walt Whitman Archive Poetry, notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, reviews, bibliography, all known photographs of Whitman, a biography, and voluminous journalistic articles.
- Victorian Women Writers Project
VWW Project is working to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by 19th century British women writers, encoded using SGML. The works, selected with assistance of the Advisory Board, include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tra
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
100 Main Library
Reference and Library Instruction
319.335.5093
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature, Theatre Arts
100 Main Library
Reference and Library Instruction
319.335.5093
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature, Theatre Arts
Collections Librarian
The Collection Management librarian for English and American literatures is Marsha Forys.
Email: marsha-forys@uiowa.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait