Journal Articles
Note: you may use these databases primarily to find articles in magazines and journals, but many of them contain other formats and information, as well. Please read the annotations for a better idea of what each resources contains.
- 19 Century UK Periodicals The 19th century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world's first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. 19th Century UK Periodicals Online, 1800-1900 is a major new series that covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
- American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. - British Periodicals
Includes British Periodicals Collection I and British Periodicals Collection II. British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent - HarpWeek: the Civil War Era through Reconstruction (1857-1875)
Full text of the popular 19th century magazine, Harper's Weekly, on literature, history, current events, culture and society. Includes images from Harper's Weekly, with index. - Index to English Literary Periodicals, 1681 to 1941
Indexes the microfilm collection English Literary Periodicals Series (ELPS), which consists of 233 titles published during the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries in England concerning a variety of subjects - JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for ho - Periodicals Index Online
Electronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665). Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in Eng - Project Muse
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many other - Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
An online index to historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror, from Texas A & M University. Material from 1878-. - Shakespeare Survey Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.
- The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
ABELL contains 860,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. Part of Literature Online (LION). - The Chicano Database
A comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material about Mexican-Americans. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include th - Women Writers Online Provides a list of women author's and links to a full-text of their various works.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare that were - Wright American fiction, 1851-1875
A product of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), this is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are over 2,800 texts by almost 1,500 authors. - The Modernist Journals Project The primary goal of the Modernist Journals Project is to provide fully-searchable online editions of the English-language journals and magazines that were important in shaping those modes of literature and art that came to be called modernist. Currently, MJP contains runs of Blast, The Blue Review, Dana, The New Age, The Owl, Rhythm, and The Tyro.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
100 Main Library
Reference and Library Instruction
319.335.5093
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature, Theatre Arts, French & Italian
100 Main Library
Reference and Library Instruction
319.335.5093
Send Email
Subjects:
English and American Literature, Theatre Arts, French & Italian
Collections Librarian
The Collection Management librarian for English and American literatures is Marsha Forys.
Email: marsha-forys@uiowa.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait