This is the "Starting Points" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Guide to basic reference sources and resources in philosophy.
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Basic Reference Sources

There are a number of reference tools for philosophy, both in general and to specialized topics, individuals, and the terminology of philosphy and philosophers and in both print and electronic formats.

General reference books in philosophy are shelved in Main Reference B51 through BD150 with the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics at BH and the encyclopedias of ethics and applied ethics at BJ63.

Oxford Reference Online is a large collection of Oxford University Press reference tools that can be searched as a topical group, Religion & Philosophy, within a single title in the group, or across the entire database for information on individuals, concepts, and terminology in philosophy.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is based on the print version but has expanded beyond that with ongoing additions and revisions. Entries include links to cross-references and to related external sites though not all of the appended links are still active.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic online encyclopedia designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences focuses on cognitive and brain sciences.

 

Journal Literature

Philosopher's index provides indexing and abstracts from publications, primarily journals, but also some books in philosophy and related fields.

Academic search elite and FRANCIS cover publications in a number of disciplines including philosophy. Academic search elite is updated daily. FRANCIS and IBZ are multilingual as well as multidisciplinary in scope. Both cover a wider range of European journals than Academic search, and both allow searches to be limited by language.

Essay and General Literature Index is a humanities and social sciences index that identifies contributions to volumes of collected essays which can otherwise be hard to find.

 

Full Text Journal Collections

The UI Libraries' electronic resources include two journal collections with deep backfiles useful for studying the history of intellectual movements and contexts in philosophy.

JSTOR, for journal storage, is a full-text archive of scholarly journals from their first issues to within 3 to 5 years, depending on the journal, of the current date. The collection may be searched by disciplinary group (76 philosophy titles), individual journal, across the entire database (over 1000 titles), or by a user-selected set of titles.

Periodicals Archive Online is a digital archive of journals, again not including current issues, back to the first issue of the publications included. PAO does not always include a continuous run, all issues, of the publications included.

Subject Guide

Chris Africa
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip