A guide to locating the texts of speeches and transcripts of news broadcasts.
- American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
An index to a growing database of full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
From the American Memory Project, Library of Congress: digitized transcripts of interviews with over 2,300 former slaves, as well as 500+ photographs. Search narratives and photos by keyword or browse by narrator's name or volume (they first appeared as a 17-volume set in 1941), or search and browse images.
- CQ Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library (CQPress.com) is an extensive reference resource comprised of 16 separate modules--each with its own focus--for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Global Reseacher, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Encyclopedia of American Government, CQ Congress and the Nation, CQ Historic Document Series, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ's Politics in America, CQ Supreme Court Yearbook, CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics, and CQ Washington Information Directory.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.
- Martin Luther King Jr. and Black History Month
Selected reference sources from Louisiana State University Libraries that focus on the writings and speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr.
- NPR News Now
National Public Radio provides a searchable archive of programs (transcripts available for purchase) and accessible recordings.
- ProQuest Congressional
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. It includes the following U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, Congressional Research Service reports, and Executive Branch documents.
Research & Library Instruction, Main Library; Telephone: (319) 335-5521
If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or:Send Email
Thursdays 10-noon in E201 Seashore Hall or by appointment