This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Online Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Bibliographies  

A list of bibliographies, primarily subject-specific.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/online_bibliographies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Bibliographies

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only - Restricted to The University of Iowa faculty, students, and staff

AcqWeb: Directory of Publishers and Vendors
Provides links to resources of interest to librarians with acquisitions or collection development responsibilities. The scope is international. Includes links to sources for verification of bibliographic information, email addresses and web pages for vendors and publishers of interest to librarians, associations and organizations, online journals and newsletters, archives for conferences, web reference resources, gateways to topical web sites, and links to search engines and subject classifications.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
Covers North American scholarship on East-Central, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union or USSR, including Russia.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
Contains 860,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. Part of Literature Online (LION).

ARTbibliographies Modern Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
Abstracts of current literature in modern art, photography and design.

ARTFL (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
A full-text retrieval bibliography of classical French writings; users can create a dictionary and frequency count of words used in a text, trace origins of words or phrases back through the 17th century, etc. The database includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

Bibliographie Nationale Francaise
French National Bibliography (BnF) of books and serials, available via free access by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, describes books and serials published, printed, broadcast or distributed in France through legal deposit. Website includes links to two titles: Bibliographie nationale francaise Livres and Publications en serie. These electronic bibliographies replace print versions discontinued in 2000.

Bibliography of British and Irish History Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, Empire and Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available, 55 BCE to the present. Succeeds the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History.

Bibliography of the History of The University of Iowa 1847-1997 (updated June 2011)
The electronic version of the print publication edited by Earl Rogers, this bibliography lists histories and selected contemporary accounts from The University of Iowa Archives of many colleges, departments, and other programs.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Online version of the microfiche set Early American Imprints, 1639-1800. Resource for aspects of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture, auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.

English Short Title Catalogue
Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard and Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).

Guide to Gay and Lesbian Resources
Classified bibliography of works with homosexual themes based on the collections of the University of Chicago.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Covers social sciences and the humanities in alternate years.

IBZ Online Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ), or the international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English.

International Aristotle BibliographyRestricted Resource - UI Access Only
Lists over 50,000 books, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the ancient Greek philosopher Aristotle, from roughly 1900 to the present.

International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Covers the European Middle Ages (c450-1500), providing over 300,000 entries from 4,500 periodicals and 5,000 miscellany volumes, published from and including 1967.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the development of online resources.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Making of America Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Digital library of primary sources in U.S. social history, providing access to 267 monograph volumes and over 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

MIML: Musical Instruction and Musical Learning 
Bibliography on musical instruction and learning from 1450-1650, designed to cover the secondary literature on how music was taught and learned during the period, elucidating aspects such as the institutions, traditions, and practices of musical pedagogy in the Early Modern Period.

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Covers social sciences and humanities, with such diverse topics as archeology, economics, history, law, linguistics, literary criticism, philosophy, political science, religious studies. Includes references and abstracts of journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe. 1986 to the present, with 2 to 3 updates per year.

SARDS 3  
Bibliographic references to South Asia published in journals, collective volumes, conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. SARDS 3 is a joint undertaking of the Indological Chairs at the Universities of Bonn, Halle, Munich and the management of the University Library Halle. It aims at the retrospective filling of identifiable bibliographic gaps in the previous version (SARDS 2, publications between 1797 and 2000). Focus of SARDS 3 is on humanities and social sciences. To date, over 67,000 citations are electronically searchable, covering the period 1797 until 2009. All entries can be downloaded and printed.

Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
Charles W. Bailey Jr.'s bibliography is intended to provide an "understanding [of] scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet and other networks" and includes sections on Economic Issues, Electronic Books and Texts, Electronic Serials, General Works, Legal Issues, Library Issues, New Publishing Models, and Publishers.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
Provides detailed and authoritative information on journals and other serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers all subjects, and includes regularly and irregularly published serials that are available free or by paid subscription.

University of Iowa Libraries Manuscripts and Manuscript Collections 
Subject guides to more than 10,000 letters or manuscript pieces, principally from the 19th and 20th centuries: agriculture, labor, U.S. Vice President Henry A. Wallace and his era, journalism, popular culture, politics (especially Iowa), railroads, vaudeville, movies and television, and the American Civil War. Major literary manuscript collections relate to British writers Leigh Hunt, Edmund Blunden, Angus Wilson, and Iris Murdoch, and to over 100 Iowa authors.

Guide Author

Profile Image
Steve Ostrem
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference & Library Instruction, Main Library; Telephone: (319) 335-5521
If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or:
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip