This is the "Dictionaries" page of the "Japanese Dictonaries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Dictonaries  

Last Updated: Sep 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/japanesedictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 

InfoHawk

 

Online Dictonaries

Japan Knowledge  http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/japanknowledge
This reference sources database includes 字通、日本国語大辞典、数え方の辞典、デジタル大辞泉、日本大百科全書(ニッポニカ)、Encyclopedia of Japan、Imidas、現代用語の基礎知識、日本人名大辞典 and many more ditcitionaries. Knowledge Searcher function could help you use Japanese reference sources.

Kotobank http://kotobank.jp
Includes 118 dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books. List of dictionaries: http://kotobank.jp/guide/dictionary.html

Weblo 辞書 http://www.weblio.jp/ 
Collection of dictionaries including 類語 (thesaurus), 英和・和英(English-Japanese/Japanese-English), 手話 (sign language), and many more glossaries.

Goo 辞書 http://dictionary.goo.ne.jp/
Dictionaries available at Goo 辞書 Site: EXCEED 英和辞典, EXCEED 和英辞典, 大辞林 第2版 , デイリー 新語辞典+α, 新明解四字熟語辞, etc.

Yahoo 辞書 http://dic.yahoo.co.jp/
Dictionaries available at Yahoo 辞書 site: 大辞泉, 大辞林, 必携類語実用辞典, プログレッシブ英和中辞典, 新グローバル英和辞典, プログレッシブ和英中辞典, ニューセンチュリー和英辞典. You have two options for Japanese dictionaries, English-Japaense dictionaries, and Japanese-English dictionaries.

Eijiro on the web 英辞郎 http://www.alc.co.jp/
Complied by a group of interpreters and translators. Especially useful to look up colloquial expressions and new words.

RNN 時事英語辞典  http://www.rnnnews.jp/
Useful website for reading news and current affairs.

手書き漢字認識 http://kanji.sljfaq.org/drawj.html 
Use your mouse like your pen and look up Chinese characters. 

Japanese Learner's Dictionary http://dictionary.j-cat.org/
You can listen to pronounciation. You can search this dictionary site in Japanese, English, and Romaji. 

Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese-English Dictionary Server  http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/wwwjdic.html
English-Japanese, Japanese-English, Kanji dictionaries and more are available.

Rikai http://www.rikai.com/perl/Home.pl
Use your mouse to look up words when reading websites or electronic documents.

Rikaichan http://rikaichan.mozdev.org/
Use your mouse to look up words when reading websites or electronic documents. For Firefox and Thunderbird users.
Updated: 9/5/2013
 

"Japanese Book News" Article on Japanese Dictionaries

"Recent Dictionaries of Note: New Reference Volumes that Get to the Heart of teh Lanuage" by Emmanji Jiro appeared in the Japan Foundation's "Japanese Book News #74." The following dictionaries were introduced in the article.

Updated: 2/1/2013

Cover Art
Kazoekata no jiten 数え方 の 辞典 - Iida Asako 飯田朝子
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL579 .I43 2004
ISBN: 4095052015
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of counter suffix.
Also available via JapanKnowldge.

Cover Art
Nihongo onomatope jiten : giongo, gitaigo 4500 日本語オノマトペ辞典 : 擬音語・擬態語4500 - Ono Masahiro hen. 小野正弘編.
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .N54 2007
ISBN: 4095041749
Publication Date: 2007
Dictionary of onomatopoeia and mimic.

Cover Art
Nihongo gokan no jiten 日本語語感の辞典 - Nakamura Akira cho. 中村明著.
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL645 .N35 2010
ISBN: 4000803131
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Japanese word usage according to subtle nuance differences.

Cover Art
Kenkyūsha Nihongo hyōgen katsuyō jiten 研究社日本語表現活用辞典 - Kanshū Himeno Masako. 監修姬野昌子.
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection PL685 .K457 2004
ISBN: 4767490510
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of Japanese collocations.

Cover Art
Kenkyūsha Nihongo korokēshon jiten = Kenkyusha’s dictionary of Japanese collocations 研究社日本語コロケーション辞典 - Kanshū Himeno Masako. 監修姬野昌子.
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL685 .K457 2012
ISBN: 476749110X
Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of Japanese collocations.

Cover Art
Te ni o ha jiten てにをは辞典 - Onai Hajime hen. 小内一編.
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection PL685 .O53 2010
ISBN: 4385136467
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of Japanese particles.

 

和英・英和辞典 Japanese<->English Dictionaries

Subject Headings:
Japanese language -- Dictionaries -- English.
English language -- Dictionaries -- Japanese.

   Lists 2800 words with romaji readings, "rubi,"examples, and parallel entries in Japanese and English. Good for beginners. 

Updated: 4/18/2013

 

文法辞典 Grammar Dictonary

Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Grammar -- Dictionaries.   

Updated: 9/5/2013

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar - Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M27 1989
ISBN: 4789004546
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Also available in Main Reference Collection PL679 .M27 1986

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar - Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M28 1995
ISBN: 4789007758
Publication Date: 1995-01-01

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Advanced Japanese Grammar - Makino; Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .M26 2008
ISBN: 4789012956
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

 

漢英辞典 Chinese Character Dictonaries

Subject Heading: Chinese language -- Dictionaries -- Japanese.

Updated: 9/5/2013

Cover Art
Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary - Jack Halpern
Call Number: Main Library PL677.5 .K63 1999
ISBN: 4770023359
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
In order to read Japanese, the student must be able to recognize over 2,000 kanji. The Kodansha Kanji Learner's Dictionary contains all these kanji as well as over 20,000 of the most frequently used compounds which kanji create when combined.

Cover Art
The New Nelson - John H. Haig; Dept. of East Asian Languages and Literatures, Unive (Revised by); Andrew N. Nelson
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PL679 .N4 1997
ISBN: 0804820368
Publication Date: 1997-09-15
The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary perpetuates the coveted status of the Original as the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary available. Keeping pace with the evolution of Japanese, over 1,200 characters and modernized definitions have been added to over 70,000 entries.

Cover Art
The Compact Nelson - John H. Haig; Andrew N. Nelson; John Haig
Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PL679 .N424 1999
ISBN: 0804820376
Publication Date: 1999-08-15
An abridged edition of Tuttle's New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary, with 3,068 characters & the Universal Radical Index (URI).

Cover Art
The Kanji Dictionary - Wolfgang Hadamitzky; Mark Spahn
Call Number: Main Reference & Main Japanese Collection Reference PL677.5 .S62 1996
ISBN: 0804820589
Publication Date: 1996-04-15
The Kanji Dictionary make the Japanese written language more accessible then ever before.

 

More 漢字辞典 More Chinese Character Dictionaries

 “現代の日本人が使うための、漢字の辞典。
  漢和辞典と国語辞典のいいところをあわせ持った辞典。”
                              『漢字は日本語である』小駒勝美

  This Kanji dictionary cites examples from modern literature after the Meiji era. 
    Includes Japanese phrases and loan words in Kanji.

 

    Accompanied by users guide (漢字辞典の使い方). Rubi readings are provided.

 

Updated: 9/5/2013

 

国語辞典 Japanese Language Dictonary

Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Dictionaries.  

  JapanKnowledge includes 日本国語大辞典 and other dictionaries. 

  Accompanied by users guide (国語辞典の使い方).

Updated: 9/5/2013

 

擬音語・擬態語  Onomatopoeic Words & Mimetic Words

Subject Headings:
Japanese language -- Onomatopoeic words -- Dictionaries.
Japanese language -- Mimetic words -- Dictionaries.

     Manga is used to illustrate the use of onomatopoeic and mimetic words.

  •  Wa-Ei gitaigo giongo bunrui yoho jiten  = A thesaurus of Japanese mimesis and onomatopoeia : usage by categories / 〈和英〉擬態語・擬音語分類用法辞典 Main Japanese Collection PL668 .G60 1990
 

類語 Synonyms

Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Synonyms and antonyms -- Dictionaries.

    With Romaji and "rubi."Explanations and examples are provided in English.

 

語源辞典

Subject Headings: Japanese language -- Etymology -- Dictionaries -- Japanese

 

 

助数詞 Numerals

Subject Heading: Japanese language -- Numerals -- Dictionaries.  

 

 

助数詞

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chiaki Sakai
坂井千晶
さかいちあき
Contact Info
Japanese Studies Librarian
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5030
FAX: 319-335-5900
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip