Hardin Library
Integrated Data Generated by Sequencing Technologies
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This link opens in a new windowWelcome to OMIM, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information. The database contains textual information and references. It also contains copious links to MEDLINE and sequence records in the Entrez system, and links to additional related resources at NCBI and elsewhere.
- OMIAOnline Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
- Human Disease Vocabulary BrowserThe current vocabulary contains human disease, syndrome, and condition terms from Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM).Use the vocabulary browser to search for potential mouse models of human diseases.
Organism Specific Info
- Mouse Genome Informatics MGIThe Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI) resource provides the research community with access to information on the genetics, genomics, and biology of the laboratory mouse. Core data in MGI include gene characterization and function, phenotype and disease model
- Bovine Genome ResourcesThis homepage provides information on bovine and bovine-related resources from NCBI and the research community.
- Chimpanzee Genome ResourcesEnter the Pan troglodytes Genome Resources page. The chimpanzee genome effort will generate an important resource for gene discovery, affecting primate health, biology, and the growing field of comparative genomics.
- WormBaseWormBase is an international consortium of biologists and computer scientists dedicated to providing the research community with accurate, current, accessible information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and some related nematod
- more from NCBINCBI provides several genomic biology tools and resources, including organism-specific pages that include links to many web sites and databases relevant to that species. We invite you to explore the links provided on this page.
More Databases...
- PubChemPubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
- Drug Information PortalThe NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences.
- The ZINCThe ZINC is a free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening. ZINC contains over 8 million purchasable compounds in ready-to-dock, 3D formats.
- Neuroscience Information FrameworkNIF is a free, web-based, portal to a wide variety of neuroscience-relevant resources, funded by the National Institutes of Health. We have an extensive registry of over 2500 resources along with a custom web index and literature archive. Through the NIF Data Federation, it provides a direct query of over 40 databases, with new ones being added regularly.
Biomedical Sciences Librarian
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752