This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Sociology Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology Resources  

A guide to the most useful resources provided by the UI Libraries, plus some sites on the Web.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Resources

 

Databases / Indexes
What are they good for? Locating articles in both scholarly journals and the popular press on sociological topics. Sociological Abstracts is your best bet if you just want articles from the sociological literature. Be sure to click on the InfoLink button  to locate full text articles. To search for books and articles together, try Smart Search.

Sociological Abstracts  View a short (4:18) tutorial on SocAbs
Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology and related fields, from 1952 to the present. For a list of features, see the SocAbs LibGuide.

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas. The index contains 70,000 records, with coverage back to 1990.

AgeLine
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies, and consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates.

Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
A collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating issues in criminal justice and public safety.

Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. government agencies, states, private organizations, and major international organizations. 

Defining Gender 1450-1910
Consists of 50,000 scanned pages of primary materials, mostly British, including commonplace books, pamphlets, diaries and letters. Broad themes include conduct, domesticity and the family, education and the body.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Everyday Life and Women in America (1800-1920)
Primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History at Duke University and the New York Public Library.

Family Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas. The index contains 45,000 records, with coverage back to 1979.

GenderWatch
Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues.

iPoll
A database of survey questions and their responses from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.

JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. You can choose to search just titles in sociology, or a combined search with other disciplines. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that JSTOR contains only back issues, it doesn't include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.

Periodicals Index Online
Electronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665). Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.

PolicyFile
Reviews the websites of think tanks, research organizations and advocacy groups in an effort to identify and index public policy reports. Provides links to organizations' documents. Includes an organization browse. Coverage varies by organization and may extend as far back as 1990.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Provides abstracts to over 2.4 million dissertations, dating to 1861. Includes full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts.

PsycInfo
The major database in psychology and social psychology, from the American Psychological Association.

Scopus
A citation index similar to Web of Science. The Social Sciences & Humanities section indexes the citations from more than 5,000 journals.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas. The index contains 40,000 records, with coverage back to 1973.

Web of Knowledge
A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1900-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Use the Social Science Citation Index to locate influential articles in sociology.

Reference Sources

Annual Review of Sociology
Contains articles summarizing current research on a variety of sociological topics. See also Annual Reviews in related disciplines. Also available in print on 4th floor of Main Library: HM15 .A55.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The encyclopedia consists of over 1800 entries on all aspects of social organization. It is updated three times a year.

LGBT Studies in Video
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Oxford Reference Online
Reference works, including subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, some specific to sociology.

Sage eReference
A collection of encyclopedias, primarily in the social sciences. See the subject entry for sociology.

Statistical Abstract of the United States current and older.
A good starting point for locating social statistics. The Main Library Service Desk has the current print edition.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A set of learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question.

Women and Social Movements, International

Women's and Gender Studies Video Online

Other Resources

American Sociological Association
The ASA home page provides access to information about current issues of interest to sociologists, online text of ASA's code of ethics, policies, and procedures, ASA publications, and home pages of ASA's specialized sections.

Great Social Theorists
A university professor's Web site collecting writings by and commentary about a number of prominent social theorists.

Guide to Gay and Lesbian Resources
A classified bibliography based upon the collections of the University of Chicago.

Iowa State Data Center
Provides custom data sets and publications based on U.S. Census data for Iowa.

Justice Information Center
Maintained by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Topical sections such as Criminal Justice Statistics, Juvenile Justice, Research, and Victims provide links to additional Internet resources.

LocalLabs
Local socioeconomic data from public sources.

Making of America
University of Michigan. A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides access to 9,500 books and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Mass Observation
Primary materials, including polling data, diaries and other personal writings, concerning British social history, 1937-1972. Compiled by the University of Sussex.

Poverty Related Resources
A comprehensive site for information about all aspects of poverty maintained by the University of Wisconsin's Institute for Research on Poverty.

SimplyMap
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.

The Sixties
Contains written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Social Explorer
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information, and the ability to make maps and charts.

U.S. Census Bureau 
Contains a wealth of information about the population of the United States. It also provides links to International Statistical Agencies and State Data Centers.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steve Ostrem
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference & Library Instruction, Main Library; (319) 335-5521
If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or:
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology
 

Chat with Steve

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip