- Linguistics (Oxford Bibliographies)
Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students and scholars. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Linguistics
OHO brings together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Contains non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 1,500 serials published worldwide.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics (Wiley)
Includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries, and covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language.
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world's leading academic, STM, and professional publishers.
- Springer E-Book Collection
SpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciencesand the Main Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or CSA. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free.
The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1500 journals in more than 35 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.
- CogNet Library
A major electronic resource for cognitive and brain sciences which provides searchable full-text of major reference works, books, and journals from MIT Press and other publishers and resource providers. Also includes conference materials, CogSci Dictionary, Almanac of cognitive science programs, and much more.
- Handbook of Pragmatics Online
Covers Linguistic Pragmatics, characterized by its continuous worldwide development into an extremely productive, innovative and intriguing research area within language studies.
- Handbook of Translation Studies Online
The Handbook of Translation Studies Online aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a broad audience of students, scholars and experts from other disciplines. It also addresses anyone with an interest in the problems of translation, interpreting, localization, editing, etc.
- Linguistics Data Consortium (LDC)
The Linguistic Data Consortium is an open consortium of universities, companies and government research laboratories. It creates, collects and distributes speech and text databases, lexicons, and other resources for research and development purposes. The UI Main Library holds all corpora published since 2002; contact bibliographer for assistance.
A place where you can conveniently find many resources to help you with your research of the world's languages. The Ethnologue database has been an active research project for more than fifty years. It is probably the most comprehensive listing of information about the currently known languages of the world. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue database.
- Linguist List
The aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information. Includes homepages of Conferences and Institutes, computer support information and language resources such as dictionaries plus much more.
- World Atlas of Language Structures Online
The World Atlas of Language Structures is a database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials. It is maintained by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology and by the Max Planck Digital Library. The atlas provides information on the location, linguistic affiliation and basic typological features of a great number of the world's languages. It interacts with Google Maps, and the content is published under a Creative Commons license.
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics (Brill)
Comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, it is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.