Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Iowa Summer Research Opportunities Program 

Research guide and orientation tool to introduce participants to the UI Libraries' information tools and services.
Last update: Sep 05th, 2008 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/srop  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles / Databases             Print Page
  
 

Smart Search

The University of Iowa Libraries
institution = University of Iowa Librariesinstitution code = UIOWA
 

Ejournal Search


Year:
Contains
Begins with
Exact match

 
 

Finding Articles

Locating and identifying scholarly and popular articles will be an important component to your research. In many fields, journal articles are the place to find reliable and important information. There are a couple of approaches for finding the most appropriate articles for your work.

The Libraries' maintains a Resources by Subject list of databases and other materials that can help you quickly find the key tools in your field. You may want to become familiar with the databases in your field.

If you have a favorite database or journal you can type it into the Smart Search box. It should present you with information about the source and give you a link to it. Alternatively, you can find a favorite e-journal by searching in the "E-journal search box to the left"

There are also some good, general purpose databases that include access to journal articles that you might benefit from using.

Class Activity

Since there are a lot of different research interests among participants, please try to use the Resources by Subject pages or Smart Search to find 1-2 databases you feel will be a good match for finding articles and other research materials on your subject. We will do a quick class participation exercise where each student announces their database of choice, and why they think it will be useful. If you're struggling to find a good match, please let Brett know during the session.

Time permitting we will also help you configure and interpret results from Google Scholar. 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrett Cloyd
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Main Library
319.335.5743
Send Email

Subjects:
United Nations

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait