Hardin Library
University of Iowa Subscribed PDA Downloads
- ACP PIER: Physicians' Information and Education Resource PIER is an evidence-based clinical resource. Entries provide guidelines on diseases, procedures, prevention and complementary and alternative medicine. All recommendations and cited references are graded for evidence level.
- Diagnosaurus Diagnosaurus, available as part of the Library's AccessMedicine subscription, allows you to search 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptom, disease or organ system.
- DynaMed Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.
EMAIL sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu FOR A SERIAL NUMBER - Epocrates Essentials - Medical Students Only This offer applies to med students only. Others can download Epocrates Rx from the Free section of this page.
EMAIL sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu FOR THE URL. - Micromedex Micromedex is available through the UIHC subscription.
TO ACCESS EMAIL sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu FOR THE URL. - Natural Standard Provides internationally published evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- RefMobile Access RefWorks through your handheld devices. Just enter the Group Code and your login and password to access your citations on the go!
Free PDA Downloads
- University of Iowa Pathology Laboratory Services Handbook Includes detailed information on tests ordered at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
- PubMed for Handhelds Search PubMed with screens designed for ease of use on a PDA.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse All evidence-based practice guidelines available on www.guidelines.gov can be downloaded to a PDA following the instructions at this site.
- NCBI Bookshelf Download PDA versions of NCBI Bookshelf books including:
* Blood Groups & Red Cell Antigens
* Clinical Methods: History, Physical & Laboratory Exams
* Genes & Disease
* Inflammatory Atherosclerosis
* Medical Microbiology - Epocrates Rx Download Contains over 3,300 brand and generic drugs, including dosing, interactions, black box warnings, safety and monitoring, adverse reactions, pricing, and more.
- ePSS (Electronic Preventive Services Selector) - AHRQ ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify appropriate screening, counseling, and preventive medication services. Based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
- Epocrates MedTools Add-on applications for your Epocrates software including a variety of clinical calculators.
- Shots Childhood Immunization Schedule Shots is a quick reference guide to the Childhood Immunization Schedule, recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names.
- AIDSinfo Access a number of AIDS-related PDA applications, including the Antiretroviral Toxicity Tool, Guidelines, and a HIV/AIDS glossary.
- WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) WISER assists first responders in hazardous material incidents by providing a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance ID support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.
- Archimedes This medical calculator provides you with 70 preprogrammed formulas that include specialties such as Cardiology, Pharmacology, Hematology, FEN, Pediatrics, Pulmonary and Renal.
- Medical Eponyms A list of 1,600 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node) with descriptions.
- Merck Manual LICENSED HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS & AMA MEMBERS ONLY
The Merck Manual provides useful clinical information to healthcare professionals. It covers a wide range of clinical specialties.
Discounted PDA Downloads
All downloads are available for Palm and Pocket PC interfaces unless otherwise indicated.
- Epocrates - 10% off products STUDENTS & RESIDENTS ONLY
Epocrates provides a 10% discount on Epocrates Essentials, Epocrates Rx Pro, Epocrates SxDx, Epocrates Lab and Epocrates Online Premium.
TO ACCESS EMAIL sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu FOR CODE. - Lexi-Comp - Discounts on Lexi-Complete, Lexi-Select Lexi-Comp provides clinical point-of-care through a number of products, primarily drug resources. With this link, Lexi-Complete is $210 and Lexi-Select is $140. For details, see Lexi-Comp's product page at http://www.lexi.com/individuals/students/.
- Unbound Medicine - 25% on all products Resources from Unbound Medicine include Harrison's Practice, Davis's Drug Guide, Taber's Medical Dictionary and Unbound Surgery.
(NOTE: The discount does not show up on the catalog page, but will appear when added to the shopping cart.)
Hardin Library |
Hardin Library for the Health SciencesOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
600 Newton Rd.
Iowa City, IA 52242-1098
lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
319-335-9151
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
600 Newton Rd.
Iowa City, IA 52242-1098
lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
319-335-9151
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait










Loading content... please wait