Drop-In Device Support
Hardin Library Offers Mobile Device Support
You may arrange an appointment by contacting sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu
PubMed Full Text Options
Staff Picks-FREE!
E Book Format and Device Table
Movieclips (free, legal clips you can use for presentations or teaching)
Mobile Weather Underground (weather)
Are we missing something?
Current News
Social media has changed Emergency Medicine Education (free resources)
EMCrit
Website: EMCrit.org
Twitter: @emcrit
Description: Scott Weingart is a critical care fellowship trained EM doc who specializes in bringing “upstairs care (ICU) downstairs” to the ED. If it involves critically ill patients, you’ll find it discussed here.
Resus
Website: Resus.me
Twitter: @cliffreid
Description: Cliff Reid is a prehospital physician with expertise in resuscitation. His site seeks to provide up-to-date information and cutting edge techniques in the field of resus.
RegionsTraumaPro
Website: Regionstraumapro.com
Twitter: @regionstrauma
Description: Michael McGonigal MD is the Director of Trauma Services for Regions Hospital in St. Paul, MN. If you’re interested in the who, whys, and whats of trauma care, he’s your man.
HqMeded-Ecg
Website: hqmeded-ecg.blogspot.com
Twitter: @smithecgblog
Description: Dr. Stephen W. Smith is a faculty physician at Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis, MN. He is known for his mastery of ECGs and his posts literally walk you through an ECG of an emergency department patient from start to finish.
CCPEM
Website: ccpem.com
Twitter: @critcareguys
Description: Mike Winters (U of Md), Peter DeBlieux (LSU), and Rob Rodriguez (UCSF). The website is a $60 investment in audio commentary by critical care experts, but the Twitter account is useful in providing and linking to critical care pearls around the net.
EKGumen
Website: ekgumen.tumblr.com
Twitter: @amalmattu
Description: The master of EM cardiology in the digital flesh. His tumblr site is awesome and he provoides weekly 15 min case presentations surrounding ECGs.
eMeducation
Website: emeducation.org
Twitter: @keepingupwithEM
iPhone app: Up-Shot Emergency Medicine
Description: Clay Smith is a clinical monster who completed IM-Peds as well as EM residencies and is now professor of all these disciplines at Vanderbilt in TN. His main push is evidence based medicine and you’ll enjoy the discussion of recent articles of interest.
UltrasoundPodcast
Website: UltrasoundPodcast.com
Twitter: @ultrasoundpod
Description: Matt Dawson and Mike Mallin, both ultrasound directors at University of KY and University of UT respectively. Great podcast that any one from interns to attendings can listen to in order to up their game.
Emlitofnote
Website: Emlitofnote.com
Twitter: @emlitofnote
Description: Want to know the hot articles that everyone in EM is reading? Look no further than Ryan Radecki’s site. You’ll find critical appraisals of current literature that typically start a discussion among other EM bloggers.
Life in the Fastlane
Website: lifeinthefastlane.com
Twitter: @sandnsurf, @kane_guthrie, @precordialthump, @eleytherius
Description: Authors at Life in the Fast Lane (Mike Cadogan, Kane Guthrie, Chris Nickson, and Michelle Johnston), one of the pre-eminent blogs on everything emergency medicine and some of the biggest proponents of FOAM (free open access medical education).
Academic Life in EM
Website: academiclifeinem.blogspot.com
Twitter: @m_lin
Description: Michelle Lin leads a team of Physician writers in providing tips for EM. She is legendary for her Paucis Verbis cards — great quick reference cards that you can link to your dropbox and evernote account for free. Her blog is great for in depth lit reviews as well.
In addition to the twitter handles, podcasts, and blogs of these social media patrons, you can also find feeds by eminent journals and emergency medicine colleges as well (i.e. @JAMA_current, @NEJM,@AnnalsofEM, @EmergencyDocs (ACEP)). You may also want to visit http://www.foamem.com/ which is an RSS feed that collates many of these resources together.
Other free resources for medical education: iMedicalApps top 10 free iPad medical Apps list . The following is a link to all the Emergency Medicine specific medial apps reviewed on iMedicalApps: iMA EM apps
Internet Librarian: 50 Great Mobile Apps for Libraries
50 Great Mobile Apps for Libraries
Richard Le and Tom Duffy
You can get a list of all of the apps from the presentation at the mobile page: http://50apps.weebly.com
46% of American adults own smart phones. By 2016, 10 billion will be in use worldwide. By the year 2013 there will be 81.4 billion apps. The average download of apps per device is 51. The average time spent on apps per day is 81 minutes (HOLY MOTHER—THAT’S A LOT). This changes the landscape of our information environment. People are using their smart phones to check local weather, find local businesses, get information, check sports scores, get traffic info, coupons, and info about their local community. Americans are working harder—but on their own time, taking their work home. 80% of people continue to work after leaving the office. 68% check email before 8am in the morning, and 50% of them check their work email while they’re still in bed (GUILTY AS CHARGED). Apps have changed the way we search for and access information. The mobile platform is the preferred way to access information on the go. We can integrate information and add value to our work with better and richer content. Most of the apps featured today are free. Richard recommends the Android apps. Tom recommends the iOS apps.
iOS apps
- Wolfram Alpha – excellent for information and comparative data
- Reference USA (for iPad only)
- Farlex – pretty cool dictionary with audio pronunciation
- DuckDuckGo (browser that doesn’t track your history, no filter, awesome)
- Article Search – searches Google Scholar, JSTOR, etc.
- Job Search
- iReader
- Epicurious – recipes and shopping lists
- Cam-Dictionary – translates text on the fly from one language to another, also with audio pronunciation
10. Shazam – love this app for identifying music
11. RedLaser – owned by eBay, lets you scan a barcode and find the item online quickly with both places to buy it or check it out from the library (for reals, the library is listed—nice!)
12. TurboScan – $1.99
13. OverDrive – recommends it for audio books especially
14. Kindle – great user interface (yep)
15. Moo, Baa, La la la! – kids book with good animation
16. PopOut! Peter – can click the word and hear it spoken, or read it yourself. Highlights the words as they’re read.
17. iTunes U – university level education for free. Yays!
18. Khan Academy – video tutoring that lets you browse by subject, app comes for the iPad too
19. Mango languages – ESL classes & other language classes
20. Biblion
21. GoodReads – just like the website, in other words awesome
22. AppAdvice – recommended apps
23. Apps Gone Free – a list of apps that used to cost money but are free now
24. Library Books – hook it up to your library, works with a lot of library systems, shows you your loan history, checked out items, etc.
25. Nimbulist – simple note-taking app
Android apps
26. Merrian-Webster – does offer audio pronunciations
27. Dictionary.com – shows popular and local trending searches, includes a thesaurus and spelling suggestion
28. Urban Dictionary – 6.5 million definitions
29. White & Yellow Pages
30. YP – also gives you local deals and events
31. AccessMyLibrary – Gale databases
32. Loclaicious – searching nearby business and points of interest with maps to the place
33. Merck PTE HD – periodic table of the elements
34. CamScanner – Turns your smart phone’s camera into a fax machine, copier, and scanner. You can share what you scan.
35. Google Goggles – Search for stuff by taking a photo, works for artwork, barcodes, products, popular images, etc. Also will translate text in French, Italian, and Spanish. Also works really well on headshots of people—don’t know who someone is? Take their photo and Google Goggle stalk the crap out of them ![]()
36. Google Translate – translates text between 64 languages. Can translate by speaking in 17 languages.
37. AllRecipes – can mix and match by what ingredients you have and limit by cooking time, has nutritional info as well
38. BigOven – Searches 250,000 recipes, and gives you ideas to use up leftovers
39. Holy Bible – Comprehensive database of all of the popular translations and versions, includes an audio version as well
40. TripAdvisor – quick city guide for travelers, works offline (yays!)
41. Congress – facts about lawmakers and bills, see how your local representatives vote
42. Recalls.gov – product recalls, can scan product barcodes or search by name
43. FirstAid – from the American Red Cross with step by step instructions and training videos
44. WebMD – quick medical and health information, find local doctors and hospitals
45. Fooducate – can scan the barcode and see what ingredients are in it, highlighting both the good and the bad and giving you healthier alternatives
46. ShopSavvy – scan and find the best online and local prices. Can use it for another way too—scan books and create reading lists you can email to yourself or your patrons.
47. Bloomberg – finance news and data, stock tracking, etc.
48. Relief Central – world facts about 266 countries including disaster guides, Medline citations, etc.
49. World Factbook – CIA World Factbook mobile style
50. SportsTab – assess scores, news, and team info
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) recently released a new mobile app that is intended to serve as the authoritative guide to NLM mobile resources. The app was created as an HTML 5 mobile Web site in support of the Library's ongoing efforts to make our information broadly available. Learn more about this new resource via the NLM Technical Bulletin article at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/ja12/ja12_nlm_mobile_app.html. To explore the app, visit http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile-app/ on your mobile device.
via Medgadget by Wouter Stomp on 6/21/12

Griffin has released the AirStrap Med, an iPad case especially for the healthcare environment. The AirStrap Med was developed in collaboration with physicians and nurses, adapting Griffin’s existing AirStrap case to the specialized needs of hospital environments.
The case is fully sanitizable and the iPad can be controlled, if needed, one-handed while wearing latex or nitrile gloves.
"Lifehacker's App Directory is a constantly maintained and updated directory of the best applications and tools for computers (Windows, Mac, and Linux) and smartphones (Android and iPhone)."

Mobile Device Resources
Browse PDA resources by platform or cost:
By Platform:
By Cost:
For more information on PDA platforms, visit the pdaMD.com Resource Center.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Hardin Library for the Health Sciences 600 Newton Road Iowa City, IA 52242-1098 319-335-7085 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Emerging Technologies |
iMedicalApps
Loading...
Medical Apps
Loading...

Submit



Loading...
