Find executive names, financials and the buzz on companies.
The following books and web sites offer contact information, ticker symbols, brief executive info, product and industry classification.
- Reference USA
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- Lexis Nexis Academic: Business Search
Includes public & private company information from a variety of sources:
-Dun and Bradstreet
-Standard and Poor’s
-Government sites, such as the SEC
- Mergent Online
--Offers 15 or more years of financial data on US public companies. Also includes recent SEC filings, annual reports, and equity pricing. The equity pricing dates back 30 years.
- Privco (Private company profiles)
Find info on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Free web site.
— Includes over 173,000 U.S. and Canadian manufacturers and 152,000 brand names. Entries include a basic company profile as well as links to company websites and product catalogs if available.
--provides information on over 2.3 million companies around the world. Users can search thousands of product and service keywords, as well as executive names.
- American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
—This directory of American firms, all of which do a substancial portion of their business in foreign nations, can be searched by categories like country, keyword, and industry code