This is the "Selected Resources" page of the "Communication Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Studies  

Selected resources for Communication Studies.
Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/commstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Selected Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal of Communication

Recent articles in the Journal of Communication:

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Selected Resources

  • Academic Search Elite  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Academic Search Elite is a powerful database that indexes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
    Interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  
      
      Icon  Icon
    CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals.
  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals  
      
      Icon
    FIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
    A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage)  Icon  Icon
    Provides full-text searchable access to back issues of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR contains ONLY back issues and does NOT include the most recent 3-5 years.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon  Icon
    The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available.
  • LexisNexis Congressional  
      
    The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  Icon
    Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. PDF texts of all documents indexed and abstracted in ASI from 2003 forward.
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is world
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers for sociology and related fields. 1963-current.
  • The Year’s Work in Cultural and Critical Theory
    Oxford: Blackwell, 1994–. An annual roundup of recent research on feminist theory, postcolonial studies, popular culture, virtual culture, film theory, cultural policy, and visual culture, presented as evaluative review essays written by leading scholars. This work is published in conjunction with the English Association (UK).
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon
    A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.

Full-text Articles

When you have the citation for an article, and you'd like to locate the full-text, try the following options.

  • From within a database, select InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
  • Under Find Resources (above), select e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title in your citation.  InfoLink will guide you to full-text options.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
    Books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries can usually be borrowed from other libraries.
  • Article Delivery
    Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law and the Curriculum Lab) can be scanned and delivered to your desktop.
  • Look for the title in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)
  • Contact me with any questions:  ericka-raber@uiowa.edu

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ericka Raber
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian
Main Library
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email
 

InfoLink E-Journal Search


Use this box to search for _titles_ of magazines, newspapers, or journals.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar will match its results with what we have available through UI Libraries' subscriptions. Set your scholarly preferences to the UI Libraries for off-campus use.  Try several search strategies to view your topic from various perspectives.   

Note:  Google Scholar does not search all of the UI Libraries' databases. Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip