Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Colleen Theisen: Outreach & Engagement Librarian

Profile

Colleen Theisen's picture
Colleen Theisen
Contact:
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-5923
Website / Blog Page

Awards and Honors

  • Mover and Shaker, Library Journal, 2015
  • 8 Book Historians, Curators, & Librarians Who Are Killing It Online, Buzzfeed, 2014
  • Bright Young Librarian, Fine Books & Collections Magazine, 2013    
  • Edmon Low Award, U. of Michigan School of Information, 2011    

About Colleen

Colleen Theisen is the Outreach & Engagement Librarian for Special Collections including rare books, manuscripts, the University Archives, and the Iowa Women's Archives. Her areas of research in the 19th century include visual aethetics in print, photography, and painting, as well as the emergence of art education in the U.S. She is a specialist in contemporary online communities, online education and online video production. 

Education

MS, Information, Archives Specialization, University of Michigan, 2011. 

Initial Teaching License, 5-12 Art, State of Iowa, Clarke University, 2003.

BA, Art History & Archaeology, University of Missouri-Columbia, 2001.

Publications and other Intellectual Contributions

Selected Presentations

  • Social Channels in Depth: Instagram, Snapchat, and Youtube, Social Media Made Simple Online Course, Library Journal, June 7, 2017.
  • Listen In: Podcasting the Archives, Midwest Archives Conference Annual Meeting, Omaha, NE, April 2017.
  • How Do You YouTube? [Recording], ALA Midwinter Conference, January 2016.
  • Internet Famous: Strategically Marketing Your Special Collections Online, Library Link New Jersey, [Recording], October 2015.
  • International Magic: Chef Louis Szathmary and His Restless Culinary Collection, Iowa City Foreign Relations Council, Broadcast on City Channel 4 TV, August 2015. [Recording] 
  • Tumblr for Special Collections [Recording], ALA Techsource Webinar, June 2015.
  • Can Your Library Have a Cross-Platform Social Media Presence? Iowa Library Association Annual Conference, October 2014. Invited Speaker Sponsored by the Iowa Association of School Librarians and the Editorial Committee.
  • Publishing for Professional Growth, ALA/ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Conference. June 2014.
  • Incentivizing Volunteer Workforces for Crowdsourced Projects, Society of American Archivists Conference, August 2013.

Educational YouTube Videos

Colleen has managed the UISpecColl YouTube channel for more than four years creating over 100 videos and most recently launching a podcast, Historically Yours. If you are interested in collaborating to create a short educational video, please email colleen-theisen@uiowa.edu.

;