Classical World: Home

Ancient civilizations around the Mediterranean

Indexes and Reference Works

Annee Philologique  Icon
APh Online contains over 600,000 bibliographic records dating back to 1949.

Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
To download images users MUST register for a personal account.
MOBILE USERS: For Apple: mobile.artstor.org. For Android: Download app from Google Play.
Encyclopaedia Islamica  Icon
"Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage."
Encyclopedia of Ancient History  Icon
The only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world, collecting over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)  Icon
Online version and continuation of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB), published in print 1947-2001, combined with the Bibliographie Altägypten (BA), providing coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to 2002 (roughly 70,000 items), as well as partial coverage of 2003-2008
Oxford Bibliographies Online  Icon
Subscribed modules include Anthropology, Art History,Classics, and Islamic Studies.
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies Online guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Classical Dictionary  Icon
Contains over 6,200 entries. The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. The Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Archaeology  Icon
OHO Archaeology brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in archaeology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

OHO Classical Studies brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in classics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Paulys Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft (RE)
The RE, a massive encyclopedia of Antiquity, is a monument of nineteenth-century German scholarship begun by August Friedrich Pauly and continued by Georg Wissowa so often referred to as Pauly Wissowa. The RE is still consulted by scholars. Entries in the early volumes that are now in the public domain are being digitized and are freely accessible through Wikisource (in German).

Suda On Line
The Suda is a tenth-century encyclopedia of the Greek, Roman, Biblical, and early Christian Mediterranean world made accessible on the web by a team of volunteers who have transcribed and translated the original Greek with additional notes and bibliography.

Subject Guide

Chris Africa
Contact:
(319) 335-5017