Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Oakland Cemetery Research Resources - Lemme Elementary: Newspapers

Local Newspaper Index

The Local News Index, produced by the Iowa City Public Library, provides indexing for local information in newspapers and magazines, codes for which appear in the Paper column. Note the Paper, Date and Page number from your search results for looking up the full text of the articles on microfilm. Codes are:

*PC=Press Citizen (1968-Present, except 1973 and 1995)
*DI=Daily Iowan (1986-Present)

LV=Little Village (2001-Present)
IC=Icon (1993-2000)
*GA=Iowa City Gazette (1999-2000)
*IM=Iowa City Magazine (1993-1996)
CR=Cedar Rapids Gazette Neighbors Section (1986-1998)

*Holdings available at University of Iowa Libraries

Newspaper Collections

Proquest Digital Microfilm

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Historical Newspapers Collections

Proquest Historical Newspapers

The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Users can cross-search titles.

Farm, Fields and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection

Google News

Iowa City Images