Aerial View of House Rented by Heaven's Gate Cult
Don't hesitate to get in touch!
Email us @ email@example.com
Call us @ 319-335-5299
SMS us @ 319-313-2395
In addition, try looking at our 60 Second Tutorials for to-the-point video tutorials that give you just the info you need.
What am I searching?
Articles and More
In Smart Search, use this search scope to search for print and online books and journals, articles (* through the Primo Central Index), library webpages, digital collections, and more simultaneously.
* The Primo Central index is a mega-aggregation of hundreds of millions of scholarly e-resources of global and regional importance. These include journal articles, e-books, reviews, legal documents and more that are harvested from primary and secondary publishers and aggregators, and from open-access repositories. A list of resources included is provided here.
Books and More
Similar to the 'Articles and More' scope, this search scope simply excludes article results.
In order to include results from EBSCO databases, you must first be signed in to Smart Search. Once you have signed in, your search results will include items from the following EBSCO databases;
Academic Search Elite
Business Source Complete
Business Source Elite
Newspaper Source Plus
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Social Work Abstracts
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
America: History & Life
The Music Index
Teacher Reference Center
This includes materials on reserve for classes at The University of Iowa. Here you can keyword search for course instructor, course name, course number, or department in addition to author, title, or call number.
Sometimes it is hard to pick a topic for your research.
1. Brainstorm. Think of at least five possibilities that fit the assignment.
2. Pick a topic that interest you. You'll be spending time reading and thinking about it, so it should be something that interests you.
3. Match your topic to the scope of the assignment.
4. Ask a question. This may not be necessary every time, but asking a question can be a helpful way to frame your research.
5. Make sure your topic fits the assignment. Reread the assignment and if you're not sure, check with your instructor.
As a student at the University of Iowa, you have access to an incredible wealth of information resources available to you through your library. We subscribe to databases that will help you find the magazine, journal, and newspaper articles you need for your academic research. To get started, watch this short lynda.com video tutorial on Databases to get a better understanding of what these tools can do for you. Access to this video is limited to University of Iowa students and staff. Login with your HawkID credentials.
University Press vs. Regular Publishers