Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies: Document Collections

Resources for students in RELS:1130:0AAA Introduction to Islamic Civilization

Document Collections and Newspapers

Document Collections: Official Sources

Archives Unbound includes several collections of documents from the U.S. State Department records for the Middle East, Iran 1888-1944; Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan, 1836-1944; Morocco, 1797-1929; Turkey, 1802-1949; Egypt, 1853-1962; Saudi Arabia, 1930-1959; Palestine and Israel, 1945-1959.

Chatham House Online Archive contains publications of the British Royal Institute of International Affairs, founded in 1920, as an independent body for the study and analysis of international affairs.

Confidential Print: Middle East covers the Middle East 1839-1969 as documented by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 includes material on recent history including anti-terrorism measures, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear weapons program.

From Other Perspectives

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a massive digital archive of nineteenth-century materials including photographs and maps. The database has twelve thematic modules, but all can be searched simultaneously. Filters in the left-hand column allow search results to be refined by content type, subject, publication date.  

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization of a microform collection of texts printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. It has fewer search options than NCCO.