Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Anthropology: Finding books and articles

A guide to basic information resources in Anthropology

Articles

 Anthropology Plus combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases making it the most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.

Academic Search Elite indexes journals is a range of disciplines, including major anthropology journals. It is updated daily, so it may pick up publications not yet covered in Anthropology Plus, It can be searched with Anthropology Plus by clicking on the "Choose Databases" link and checking both titles on the drop down list.

Annual Reviews includes the Annual Review of Anthropology which provides an overview of significant  recent research in the subfields of Anthropology.

JSTOR is a massive multidisciplinary archive of scholarly literature. From the Advanced Search page (highly recommended) searches can be limited by subject area(s), by publication title(s), or material type, among other specifications. JSTOR was designed for long-term storage and does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years, which are covered by indexes such as Anthropology Plus and Academic Search Elite.

Books

The InfoHawk Catalog holds records for resources owned by or subscribed to by the University Libraries in print and electronic formats. The "Smart Search" option will widen the search area to include resources outside those held by the Libraries. Items not held can be requested through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery services.

The Advanced Search option in InfoHawk allows fine tuning searches in several ways including publication date and recent acqusitions.

Very Short Introductions is a database of short introductory books by recognized scholars in their fields that provide a basic overview on such topics as anthropology itself and cultural activities and concepts such as language, music, writing, religion.