UI Libraries Resources
Smart Search
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
Class films @ UI Libraries
- María Candelaria (1944)Main Media Collection 34213 DVD
- La mujer del puerto (1933)Main Media Collection 20553 DVD
- ¡Vámonos con Pancho Villa! (1936)Main Media Collection 19676 DVD
- Ahí está el detalle! (1940)Main Media Collection 16838 DVD
- Aventurera (1950)Main Media Collection 15591 DVD
- El ángel exterminador (1962)Main Media Collection 27876 DVD
- Rojo amanecer (1989)Main Media Collection 24715 DVD
- Lola (1989)Main Media Collection 25038 DVD
- Y tu mamá también (2001)Main Media Collection 13129 DVD
Featured Resource: Classic Mexican Cinema
source: Cinema Reporter, 25 December 1948 (Brill Classic Mexican Cinema)
- Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new windowMexican Cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its “Golden Age” (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries. During its heyday, the Mexican film industry produced an average of one hundred films annually and supplied screen entertainment to both domestic audiences and international markets in Latin America, the United States, and Europe. The Golden Age of Mexican Cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals.
Important Databases
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America. Content is primarily in Spanish.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 120,000 films from 170 countries, with biographical information for 720,000 persons in the film industry. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
- Film Literature IndexThe Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
How do I find books and e-books?
Watch this short video for a quick tutorial on using the University of Iowa Libraries' Smart Search.
Reference materials & recommended readings @ UI Libraries
- Cinemachismo: Masculinities and sexulatiy in Mexican filmE-book. Print copy also available: Main Library PN1993.5.M4 M67 2006
- Constructing the image of the Mexican Revolution: Cinema and the archiveE-book. Print copy also available: Main Library F1234 .P55 2010
- Cinema of solitude: A critical study of Mexican film, 1967-1983Main Library PN1993.5.M4 B4 1992
- In excess: Sergei Eisenstein's MexicoE-book. Print copy also available: Main Library PN1997.Q37 S25 2009
- The Mexican filmography: 1916 through 2001Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1993.5.M4 W55 2004 [Does not circulate.]
Subject Guide
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Google Books
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the right column of this guide.
- WorldCatWorldCat will help you find books from many libraries in the United States, plus some libraries worldwide.
- Uborrow This link opens in a new windowSearch over 90 million books from the collections of 13 research libraries, request, and receive within a week.
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.
Recommended links
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC, UT Austin)LANIC is a selective directory of over 10,000 websites from and about Latin America.