Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Distance Education Library Services: UI Libraries' Proxy Server Address

These webpages guide University of Iowa Distance Education students to library resources and services. A University of Iowa HawkID and password are required to use some resources.

Proxy Link Generator

1. Copy and paste your source URL here:

2. Click this:

3. Copy and use the resulting link:

Making links work from off campus: UI Libraries’ proxy server address

Some providers of online articles assign a unique code to each article called a digital object identifier (DOI) while others use a stable (or persistent) URL. A DOI looks like a series of numbers (10.1108/00400910310508955) and to use it you will need to run it through a link resolver website ‐ http://dx.doi.org. The total link to this article would be http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/00400910310508955 and will work fine from on campus but might not work from outside the University of Iowa web space. Regardless of the type of link they use, online article providers generally restrict access to their articles to persons using internet connections of institutions that bought access to their articles. Effectively, they limit access to users who are on campus.


To make sure University of Iowa users can access the article away from campus, copy our proxy server address (proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=) into the URL so that the whole thing looks like http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/00400910310508955.  This will trigger the website to ask for HawkIDs and passwords to allow access to protected content.

Examples of URLs from library databases, using the proxy server address and a stable URL

EBSCOhost databases(Academic Search Elite, CINAHL Plus, Business Source Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, SPORTDiscus, etc.)

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=afh&AN=12398730&site=ehost‐live

JSTOR database

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/584833

ProQuest databases (Dissertations and Theses)

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=2073716871&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientId=29945&RQT=309&VName=PQD

Examples of URLs from library databases, using the proxy server address and a Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

Elsevier databases (Science Direct)

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S0022‐0248(01)01064‐8

APA databases (PsycInfo)

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/a0018953

Oxford databases

http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195158601.001.0001

Amy Paulus

Dan Gall's picture
Dan Gall
Contact:
335-5256 (local)
877-807-9587 (toll-free)
lib-disted@uiowa.edu
Subjects:Social Work