Gender in U.S. History: Home

The guide is intended to serve as a resource guide for students in Gender in U.S. History (016:219) with Dr. Leslie Schwalm

Microform Guides

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

The following illustration of the women's procession shows the banner bearing the slogan of the single women stitchers from Ward One: "American Ladies Will Not be Slaves. Give us a Fair Compensation, and we Labour Cheerfully."

Illustration of Women's Procession on 7 March 1860, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Magazine, 17 March 1860. This illustration and more can be found in the database Women and Social Movements, 1600-2000.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 105 document projects and archives and more 53,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written altogether by about 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

 

Subject Guide

Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-5698