Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Japanese Theater and Drama: Rakugo

Reference Sources in Japanese

Web Resources

Updated: 3/25/2014

Digital Collections

Rakugo Call Numbers 落語のコール・ナンバー

  • PL746.5              Japanese Literature - Rakugo
  • PL776.5              Collection of rakugo texts
  • PN2924.5.R34     Rakugo performance

Japananese language resources are in the East Asian Collection on the 2nd floor and English language resources are on the 5th floor. To check out DVDs in the Media Collection, go to the Reference/Information Desk on the 1st floor.

Updated: 11/27/2012

Rakugo in English

Hajimete no eigo rakugo : kore ga sekai o bakushō saseru eigo rakugo da DVD BOOK はじめての英語落語 : これが世界を爆笑させる「英語落語」だ! DVD BOOK

Eigo de yomu koten rakugo = Traditional comic stories from Japan  英語で読む古典落語 Main Japanese Collection PL776.5 .E54 2007『『

『らくごえいが』 includes one rakugo performance in English by Katsura Sanshiro.

Rakugo DVD 落語DVD

Katsura Bunchin Dai Tōkyō dokuenkai  桂文珍大東京独演会 10 DVDs and 1 bonus disc.  Japanese dialogue with optional Japanese and English subtitles except bonus disc.
Main Media Collection Video record 38087 DVD

一日目. 蔵丁稚 ; らくだ -- 二日目. 茶屋迎い ; 算段の平兵衛 -- 三日目. 風呂敷 ; 新版・七度狐 -- 四日目. 住吉駕籠 ; 地獄八景亡者戯 -- 五日目. 池田の猪買い ; 御神酒徳利 -- 六日目. 高津の富 ; 商社殺油地獄 -- 七日目. 軒付け ; 口入屋 -- 八日目. 船弁慶 ; そこつ長屋 -- 九日目. 星野屋 ; 胴乱の幸助 -- 十日目. 老婆の休日 ; 百年目 -- 特. 十日連続独演会の舞台裏.

Katsura Bunchin 10-ya renzoku dokuenkai  桂文珍10夜連続独演会 10 DVDs. In Japanese.
Main Media Collection Video record 38238 DVD

第1夜. 老婆の休日 ; らくだ -- 第2夜. 茶屋迎い ; 宿屋仇 -- 第3夜. 心中恋の電脳 ; はてなの茶碗 -- 第4夜. 庖丁間男 ; 商社殺油地獄 -- 第5夜. マニュアル時代 ; 地獄八景亡者戯 -- 第6夜. 天狗裁き ; 不動坊 -- 第7夜. 星野屋 ; 胴乱の幸助 -- 第8夜. 老楽風呂 ; 愛宕山 -- 第9夜. 新版・世帯念仏 ; 新版・七度狐 -- 第10夜. ヘイ!マスター ; 百年目.

Kokontei Shinchō zenshū  古今亭志ん朝全集 16 DVDs.   In Japanese.
Main Media Collection Video record 34813 DVD

上: 1. 文七元結 ; 火焰太鼓 -- 2. 五人廻し; 百年目-- 3. 二番煎じ ; ぬけ雀 ; 四段目-- 4. 大工調べ ; 宿屋の富 ; 浜野矩隨 -- 5. 愛宕山 ; 酢豆腐 ; 三方一両損 -- 6. 寝床 ; 鰻の幇間 ; 夢金 -- 7. 大山詣り ; 子別れ, 下 ; 品川心中 -- 8. 反魂香 ; 口入屋 ; 井戶の茶碗.

下: 1. 火焰太鼓 ; 五人廻し; 抜け雀 -- 2. 船徳 ; 厩火事 ; 芝浜 -- 3. 黄金餅 ; 三枚起請 ; 宗珉の滝 -- 4. 居残り佐平次 ; 今戶の狐 -- 5. お若伊之助 ; つき馬 ; 締め込み -- 6. お直し ; 富久 ; もう半分 -- 7. 文違い ; 搗屋幸兵衛 ; 化物使い -- 8. 柳田格之進 ; 唐茄子屋政談.

Shijaku rakugo taizen  枝雀落語大全 10 DVDs.   In Japanese with optional Japanese subtitles. 10 discs.
Main Media Collection Video record 27948 

第一集. 寝床 ; 代書 -- 第二集. くしゃみ講釈 ; 鷺とり -- 第三集. 宿替え ; 池田の猪買い -- 第四集. 饅頭こわい ; 替り目 -- 第五集. 住吉駕籠 ; 八五郎坊主 -- 第六集. 高津の富 ; 不動坊 -- 第七集. 三十石 夢の通い路 ; 夏の医者 -- 第八集. 愛宕山 ; 貧乏神 -- 第九集. 舟弁慶 ; かぜうどん -- 第十集. 地獄八景亡者戯 前編・後編.

Jōnetsu tairiku x Tatekawa Danshi  情熱大陸 x 立川談志 In Japanese.
Main Media Collection Video record 34225 DVD 

disc 1. Jōnetsu tairiku #55, May 2, 1999 ; Rakuda and Yakan at Okinawa Shimin Shogekijō Ashibinā, March 19, 1999 -- disc 2. Jōnetsu tairiku #402, June 18, 2006 ; Kintama isha at Shinbashi Enbujō, May 30, 2006 -- disc 3. Jōnetsu tairiku #677, Nov. 27, 2011 ; Zorozoro and talk with Bakushō Mondai and Odagiri Jō at Akasaka ACT Shiatā, Sep. 5, 2011.

Shinshō de ajiwau Edo jōcho 志ん生で味わう江戸情緒 5 v. CD books with scripts. In Japanese.

1. 江戸の心意気「祭り」がわかる
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 B652 2005
2. 江戸の花街「遊廓」がわかる 
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 B653 2005
4. 江戸の旅と交通「道中」がわかる
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 B654 2005
4. 江戸の人情「長屋」がわかる
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 B655 2006
5. 江戸の繁盛「商い」がわかる
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 B656 2006 

Nihon no wagei tokusen : kotoba hitosuji, wagei no meishutachi no kyōenkai. Rakugo hen. 日本の話芸特撰集 : ことば一筋、話芸の名手たちの競演会. 落語編. In Japanese. 
Main Media Collection Video record 30850 DVD 

 1. 八五郎出世 / 九代目春風亭小柳枝. 富久 / 二代目古今亭圓菊. 文七元結 / 九代目入船亭扇橋. 帯久 / 六代目三遊亭圓窓. -- 2. 紙入れ / 二代目桂文朝. 与太郎戦記 / 五代目春風亭柳昇. 三方一両損 / 三笑亭夢楽. 禁酒番屋 / 十代目桂文治. -- 3. 火焰太鼓 / 三代目柳家権太楼. 林家彦六伝 / 林家木久蔵. 崇徳院 / 三遊亭小遊三. 質屋庫 / 桂歌丸. -- 4. 猫の災難 / 五代目鈴々舎馬風. 名古屋版金明竹 / 三遊亭圓丈. 船徳 / 八代目橘家圓蔵. 長屋の花見 / 三代目三遊亭遊三.

Rakugo no iki  落語のいき  4 v. DVD books with scripts. In Japanese.

第1巻 お店噺編 『二番煎じ』『悋気の独楽』『茶の湯』
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 R3473 2009
第2巻 食と旅噺編 『富士詣り』『祇園祭』『時そば』
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 R3474 2009
第3巻 廓噺編 『坊主の遊び』『三枚起請』『幾代餅』
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 R3475 2009
第4巻 長屋噺編 『雛鍔』『締め込み』『らくだ』
Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.R34 R3476 2009

 

Updated: 7/4/2014

Rakugo Online

落語「じゅげむ」 from おはなしのくにクラッシック on NHK for School

インターネット落語会 website by 社団法人落語協会

   YouTube 落語協会チャンネル: http://www.youtube.com/rakugodcc

   Monthly updates on the 10th of every month.

落語はじめの一歩 by 落語芸術協会

   Includes 落語辞典 and 演目紹介 pages.

Updated: 8/24/2015

Rakugo Scripts/Texts 落語速記本・台本

落語百選 4 v. Main Japanese Collection PL776.5 .R26 1999 

古典落語 (ハルキ文庫) 9 v. Main Japanese Collection PL776.5 .K682 2011 -- PL776.5 .K688 2012 

桂枝雀爆笑コレクション : 上方落語 5 v. Main Japanese Collection PL776.5 .K3883 2005 -- PL776.5 .K3887 2006

志ん朝の落語 6 v. Main Japanese Collection PL776.3 K65 2003

円朝全集 (2013) Main Japanese Collection PL816 .A55 2012 

米朝落語全集 増補改訂版

Updated: 7/3/2014

Rakugo & Popular Culture

Comics

Gekiga yose Shibahama 劇画寄席芝浜 Main Japanese Collection PN6790.J33 T383 2009

Fallen Words Main Library PN6790.J33 T38313 2012  English translation of "Gekiga yose Shibahama."

Tatsumi : a film by Eric Khoo Main Media Collection Video record 35024 DVD (Pal, region 2) and 36961 DVD (NTSC) Animated film of "Gekiga yose Shibahama." Japanese with English subtitles

 Tama-chan hausu たまちゃんハウス Main Japanese Collection PN6790.J33 O857 2006 

 Yose geinin den 寄席芸人伝

 

Movies

Atamayama : Yamamura Kōji sakuhinshū = Mt. Head : Kōji Yamamura animation works 頭山 : 山村浩二作品集 Main Media Collection Video record 24907 DVD With English and French subtitles.

Atamayama 頭山 also in 75th Annual Academy Awards short films Main Media Collection Video record 16432 DVD  With English Subtitles.

Shaberedomo shaberedomo しゃべれどもしゃべれども Main Media Collection Video record 26292 DVD

Taigā & Doragon タイガー&ドラゴン Main Media Collection Video record 35788 DVD

 

Plays

Script of "Enshō to Shinshō" in Inoue Hisashi zen shibai (Main Japanese Collection PL830.N516 A19 1984 v.7).

Updated: 2/28/2013