Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Library Guide for International Students: Resources in Other Languages

Resources in Other Languages

To find items in other languages, use the InfoHawk Catalog and select "More Search Options." Towards the bottom of the page there is a drop-down menu with many languages that you can search. Select a language and enter your search terms. 

Look for this drop-down menu:

Language Dictionaries

You can search for dual-language dictionaries in the InfoHawk Catalog. If you do not know the title of a dictionary, select Keyword in Title and enter the languages you want, such as Spanish English dictionary, Russian English dictionary, etc. You can also browse this English language -- Dictionaries list for dual-language English dictionaries.

Online Dictionaries:

East Asian Collection

The East Asian Collection is located on the 2nd floor of the Main Library (on the west side near the Music collection), and includes Chinese collections, Japanese collections, and Korean collections

The Chinese Collection has over 150,000 volumes, including about 110,000 volumes in Chinese, and more than 400 current Chinese periodicals, covering subject areas in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. The collection is, in particular, strong in Chinese history, literature, dialectology, religion, and Dunhuang studies. Visit the Chinese Collection web page for research guides, print journals, online databases and resources, and more information about the collection.

Have questions or need assistance with the East Asian Collection?
Here is contact information for the East Asian Collection Professional Staff.

International Newspapers

The library has electronic subscriptions to a number of international newspapers. To see if a newspaper is part of our collection, enter the title into this E-Journal locator (for example, "Le Monde," "India Today," "Korea Times," "Shanghai Daily," etc.).

Below is a list of some databases you can use to search for international newspapers. For more, see the News and Newspapers research guide, and go to the "International Newspaper Resources" tab.