Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Research Data Services

This guide was created to help researchers locate available resources for data management and sharing.

What resources are available on campus to help with data management?

There are many campus-wide and department-specific resources available to assist researchers with data management needs. See the list below for links. If you would like to add a resource to this list, please contact lib-data@uiowa.edu

Campus Level

Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development

The office supports and advances research, scholarship and creative activity on campus by providing resources and support to researchers and innovators at the UI.

  • Provides guidelines on data/research records management introducing the definition of research records, key points on managing data, practices for data maintenance, oversight and storage, resources for assistance in developing data management plan, as well as UI and federal policies, procedures and resources.
  • Researcher Handbook

Division of Sponsored Programs (DSP)

The DSP provides a wide range of services for faculty, staff and students seeking external funding for research, training, service, and scholarly and creative endeavors by assisting with the search for external funding sources, reviewing and approving grant application, and monitoring and advising on issues of regulatory compliance.

  • Lists internal, external and private funding sources and searches, and related links to resources, services and training.
  • Data Use Agreements - Data Use Agreements (DUAs) are contractual documents used for the transfer of non-public data that is subject to some restriction on its use. Broadly speaking, DUAs can be either Incoming (UI receives data from an outside entity) or Outgoing (data housed at UI are shared with an outside entity). 

Information Technology Services (ITS) - Research Services - Research Technology Consulting

ITS provides a wide range of technologies, computing services and resources for students, faculty and staff at the UI.

Information Technology Communities - Institutional Data Users Group

The group provides a collaborative environment for access and usage of Institutional data, a forum to share techniques and best practices, a networking platform between institutional data stewards and users.

  • Monthly training and discussion session on topics provided by active University Data Warehouse users and the IDUG Executive Committee.

Scholarly Publishing Library Guide 

The scholarly publishing system includes the process of creating and evaluating scholarly content, disseminating it to the scholarly community, and preserving it for future use.

Dentistry

Biostatistics Unit

The Unit offers statistical support to the College of Dentistry. Primary researchers in the Unit have full experience with analysis of biomedical data including both clinical and basic science research, as well as economic and large database analysis.

  • Study design, data management plan, database structure, grant proposal preparation, statistical analysis, and abstracts and manuscripts preparation.

Education

Grant and Research Services Center (GRSC)

The GRSC provides support for grant and research projects, training projects and services projects in the College of Education.

  • Assists with identifying internal and external funding sources
  • Provides information and workshops on grant topics
  • Provides services on research, training and projects in development, implementation and utilization

Paul Blommers Measurement Resources Library

The library supported by non-state funding from the Iowa Measurement Research Foundation, serves the College of Education by providing services and collection on educational and psychological measurement, testing, assessment and evaluation.

Engineering

Engineering Computer Services

The ECS as part of Engineering Technology Center provides and manages an effective, secure, reliable and innovative computing environments for the College of Engineering.

  • Data management services on student enrollment data, course and instructor evaluation data, survey preparation, set-up and reporting, and survey data submission for U.S. News, Peterson’s Graduate, ASEE, Engineering Workforce Commission (EWC) Surveys of Degrees and Enrollment.
  • Provides various Linux and Windows software
  • Supports secure networking
  • Provides files backup and recovery services

Office of Grant Support

The OGS is a new research administrative support service to assist Engineering faculty, staff, and students in identifying promising research funding opportunities and preparing effective, competitive, and winning proposals.

Liberal Arts & Sciences

Iowa Social Science Research Center (ISRC)

The ISRC as a resource for interdisciplinary social science research, provides support on grant development, data collection and management, and access services to the university community.

  • Data Collection Services including consultation on survey design and instruments, data collection based on phone, web and mixed mode, and other related services
  • Grant Development Support by identifying internal and external funding opportunities, assisting with research programs development, providing orientation, information and training on grant topics, and serving as liaison to offices on campus.
  • Introduction to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) and the Hawkeye Poll.

Public Policy Center

The Public Policy Center (PPC) is an interdisciplinary academic research center in the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) that investigates the most important issues affecting our daily lives. Our research is focused on Iowa and beyond. We also assist researchers across campus with their studies and serve to bring the resources and expertise of the University to policy makers and the public.

Medicine

Institute Clinical Translational Science (ICTS)

The ICTS as a leading medical research institution is endeavoring to transform medical research and discoveries into actual treatments, engaging communities in clinical research efforts, and training new clinical and translational researchers.

  • REDCap is the ICTS's preferred data management tool. Developed by programmers at Vanderbilt University, REDCap is a reliable and secure web-based application that allows you to better manage your research team's data collection process from start to finish.
  • UI BioShare is a new service that provides researchers access to a single software application to manage and house both research subject and sample data. It allows for lab/repository privacy and security while providing a single location for prospective.

Iowa Institute of Human Genetics - Bioinformatics Division

The Bioinformatics Division of the Iowa Institute of Human Genetics (IIHG) helps researchers across the university analyze, reduce, and focus large data sets to further their research. They provide the expertise and equipment to carry out analysis of complex data sets, including training researchers who want to do their own analyses and providing the software needed to do so.

Office of Information Technology Service Catalog

The office provides the research data storage service to meet the researchers’ need for low cost storage.

Office of Scientific Affairs

The office provides and coordinates resources in clinical and basic research endeavors by assisting investigators in communicating funding opportunities, proposal preparation and routing, awarding administration and transferring agreements.

Nursing

Office of Nursing Research and Scholarship (ONRS)

ONRS helps investigators to develop programs of research, identify sources of funding and prepare grant applications and also supports post-award management and research implementation and dissemination by providing assistance with research administration, data management and analysis, manuscript preparation and editing, and conference poster creation.

  • Design new databases, work with exist databases, build datasets, clean and manage data files, assist with statistical analysis, prepare tabular and graphical summaries of study results.
  • Consultation provided by the Statistician and data Manager on plans for data management including planning data entry forms and data entry options and designing a database, and determining the best data entry system for your project.

Public Health

Biostatistics Consulting Center 

The Biostatistics Consulting Center is a unit providing biostatistical consulting to the Carver College of Medicine (CCOM) and other health science researchers at the UI College of Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy and Liberal Arts and Sciences.

  • Services and consulting on data management strategies, statistical analysis, data entry and forms design.

Clinical Trials Statistical and Data Management Center 

Associated with the Department of Biostatistics in the College of Public Health at the UI, CTSDMC has provided leadership in study design, data management, project management, and statistical analysis.

  • Written requirements and specifications for system functionality
  • Written protocol-specific user requirements and specifications
  • Case report form development, testing and validation
  • Data management plans
  • Relational database design and development
  • Capture electronic data, data accuracy and completeness, data correction and query resolution and double data entry verification
  • Developed a server-side scripting technology, Active Server Pages (ASP/ASP.Net) to allow web developers to generate dynamic, data-driven web APP